Oregon Directories

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oregon Wiki Topics
Oregon flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Oregon Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Moderator

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Directories have been published for various Illinois cities and counties since the 1830s, though they may not exist for every year. Some directories focus on the businesses or occupations of an area, while others include heads of households, landowners, and voters.

City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.

Resources for Oregon Directories[edit | edit source]

Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]

Directories Online[edit | edit source]

Ancestry.com ($) has Oregon directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.

The Family History Library[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Oregon including:

Portland

1863-1902 Family History Library microfilm 1377327-1377339

1901-1935 Family History Library microfilm 1611914-1611935

1923, 1941, 1964 etc. Family History Library book 979.549/P1 E4p

To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

OREGON, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
OREGON, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES

Websites[edit | edit source]