Oregon County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Oregon County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Oregon County

Guide to Oregon County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Alton
Organized: February 14, 1845
Parent County(s): Ripley[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carter  • Fulton (AR)  • Howell  • Randolph (AR)  • Ripley  • Shannon  • Sharp (AR)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriOregonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map Oregon County, Missouri.png
Adoption
Oregon County, Missouri

County Information

Description

The County was named for the Oregon Territory. The County has Alton as its seat and the County was created February 14, 1845. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Oregon County Courthouse
PO Box 324
Alton, MO 65606
Phone: 417-778-7475
Oregon County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, and court records Probate Judge has probate records.
Recorder of Deeds has land records. [3]

Oregon County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1845 1883 1845 1845 1854 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

1863 Courthouse burned in October 1863, destroying many county records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1845 Oregon County was created 14 February 1845 from Ripley County.
  • County seat: Alton[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Oregon County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Oregon County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Oregon County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Oregon County, Missouri histories at various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Oregon County Missouri. This lists collections in the Western Historical Manuscript Collection-Rolla that deal in some manner with Oregon County.
  • Many History records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from the FHL catalog.

Maps and Gazetteers

Ripley CountyCarter CountyShannon CountyHowell CountyFulton CountySharp CountyRandolph CountyMO OREGON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Oregon County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oregon County, Missouri:

- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company F
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company C
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company F
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company D
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate,
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company B
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Many Naturalization records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oregon County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed. Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Many vital records records for Oregon County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and may be available through Inter-Library loan. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Oregon, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oregon_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/06/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oregon County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.