Orangeburg County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Carolina
Orangeburg County

Guide to Orangeburg County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.

  • From 1800 to 1868 this Orangeburg County was also known by the alias of Orangeburg District.
  • Not to be confused with the overarching court district called Orangeburgh District 1768-1800.


{{{link}}}


Orangeburg County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Orangeburg County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1769
County Seat Orangeburg
Courthouse


County Information


Orangeburg County, South Carolina Record Dates

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1915 1911 1915 1820 1824 1824

County Courthouse

Orangeburg County Courthouse


Orangeburg County Courthouse
190 Gibson Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115

Clerk of Court
190 Gibson Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115
Phone: 803-533-6260
Court records

Register of Deeds
190 Gibson St.
Orangeburg, SC 29116
Phone: 803-533-6235
Land records On-line Research

Probate Court
190 Gibson St.
Orangeburg, SC 29116
Phone: 803-533-6280

Hours:
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

Historical Facts

William V, Prince of Orange (1748-1806)
The county is named after William V, Prince of Orange (1748-1806).[1]
Orangeburg County was the site of the Revolutionary War Battle of Eutaw Springs.

Parent County

1769--Modern Orangeburg County was created in 1800 from the northeast half of the old overarching Orangeburgh District abolished in 1800.[2]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

  • Orangeburgh officially dropped the h in 1783 and is since known as Orangeburg.[4]

Record Loss

Fire.png


  • Public records were removed to Columbia early in 1865; on 17 February 1865, they were burned there during Sherman's occupation. Deed books suffered heavy record loss.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Boiling Spring (hist.) Edistone (hist.) Highland Park Sandy Run
Bolen Town Elloree Holly Hill Santee
Bowman Eutaw Springs Jamison Sixty Six
Bowyer Eutawville Lambrick Springfield
Branchville Felder Livingston Stilton
Brookdale Felderville Neeses Tugtown
Canaan Ferguson (hist.) North Vance
Conners (hist.) Fersners Norway Waynor (hist.)
Cope Fifty Eight (hist.) Orangeburg Wells
Cordova Four Holes Parler Whetsell
Creco (hist.) Gravel Hill Partersville Wilkinson Heights
Dorchee (hist.) Great Branch Rivelon Wolfton
Edisto Haddock Rowesville Woodford

For further information (and links) on these populated places, please go to Populated Places, Orangeburg County, South Carolina

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Orangeburg County

Research Guides

African Americans

Gotoarrow.pngOrangeburg County, South Carolina African Americans

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
SCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
SCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
SCInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 18,513
1800 15,766 −14.8%
1810 13,229 −16.1%
1820 15,653 18.3%
1830 18,453 17.9%
1840 18,519 0.4%
1850 23,582 27.3%
1860 24,896 5.6%
1870 16,865 −32.3%
1880 41,395 145.4%
1890 49,393 19.3%
1900 59,663 20.8%
1910 55,893 −6.3%
1920 64,907 16.1%
1930 63,864 −1.6%
1940 63,707 −0.2%
1950 68,726 7.9%
1960 68,559 −0.2%
1970 69,789 1.8%
1980 82,276 17.9%
1990 84,803 3.1%
2000 91,582 8.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Orangeburg County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Orangeburg County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files The USGenWeb Census Project®

1820
  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Orangeburgh, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.779 X2j 1820
1850
  • Black, James M. 1850 Census of Orangeburg County, S.C.: Transcribed from the Original Records from the National Archives as Contained on the Microfilm Copy in the Genealogical Library. 1956. FHL Collection 975.779 X2p 1850
  • Buff, L.H. The Orangeburg District (SC) 1850 Census. Lexington, S.C.: Lexington Genealogical Association, 1997. FHL Collection 975.779 X2b 1850

Church Records

Protestant Episcopal

After 1785, residents of Orangeburg County were also served by this parish. Click the link to see a description of the parish records held by the South Carolina Historical Society:

Presbyterian

  • Estes, Frank B. History of Orangeburg Presbyterian Church 1835-1935. 1935. Digital version at Internet Archive.

Lutheran

  • St. Matthew's Parish was created in 1768 in historic Orangeburgh District. See the St. Matthew's Parish, South Carolina page for a history of the church as well as record availability.

Court

Orangeburg County has court records from 1824 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Orangeburg County was formed from Lewisburg, Lexington and Orange Counties which were a part of the Orangeburgh District from 1785 - 1800.

The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Orangeburg County.

DNA

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy

  • [Barton] Barton, W. Baynard and Fannie May Dooley Barton. A Genealogy Study of the Descendants of Anthony Barton: The First American Barton of This Record, an Emigrant from England to America, 1825. Stonega, Va.: W.B. Barton, 1956. FHL Collection 1465997 Item 9
  • [Barton] Barton, W. Baynard and Fannie May Dooley Barton. Bartons of Charleston, South Carolina and Orangeburg County, South Carolina. Kingsport, Tenn.: Collier's Printing, 1983. FHL 929.273 B285bw
  • [Bauknecht] Bauknight, Ivan M. The Genealogy of the Bauknight--Bouknight Family in the United States of America. Miami, Fla.: I.M. Bauknight, 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 B326bi
  • [Bottner] Felder, Paula S. Ludwig Bottner and His Sons, the Beginning of the Boatner Family in America. Fredericksburg, Va.: Historic Publications of Fredericksburg, 1985. FHL Collection 929.273 B63fp
  • [Britt] Cameron, Sheila Britt. Britt, Miller, Mason, Flowers and Related Families. Sanford, Fla.: S.B. Cameron, 1989. FHL Collection 1697299 Item 5
  • [Connor] Gilmore, Leroy H. Two Great-grands: A Factual Story of Two Remarkable People. Charleston, S.C.: Walker, Evans, and Cogswell, 1955. FHL Collection 929.273 C762g
  • [Cooper] Andrea, Leonardo. Cooper. National Library, D.A.R., 1950. FHL Collection 873024 Item 10
  • [Culler] Culler, Hugh Clayton. A History of the Culler Family. Orangeburg, S.C.: H.C. Culler, 1929. FHL Collection 929.273 C897ch
  • [Culler] Fordham, Virgil C. Culler and Related Families History. Corona, Calif.: Fordham Pub., 2001. FHL Collection 929.273 C897fv
  • [Crum] Crum Family Bible Records, 1738-1878. Alabama Genealogical Records, Leaves 8-10. Microfilmed 1970. FHL Collection 835114 Item 4
  • [Dantzler] Dantzler, D.D. A Genealogical Record of the Dantzler Family: From 1739 to the Present Time. Orangeburg, S.C.: R.L. Berry, 1899. FHL Collection 929.273 D236d; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Dukes] Creel, George Edison, Theo Lula Creel Manning, and Daniel Thomas Creel. Creel Family History -- April 2003. Hernando Beach, Fla.: G.E. Creel, 2003. FHL Collection 929.273 C861cg
  • [Fannin] D.A.R. Baron DeKalb Chapter (Decatur, Ga.). Miscellaneous Genealogical Records. Typescript, 1965. FHL Collection 863971 Item 1
  • [Felder] Thomas, Ruby Felder Ray. Felder Family of Americus, Sumter County, Georgia, and Sumter County History. MSS. Microfilmed 1959. FHL Collection 203221 [Includes pamphlet "The Felder Family of South Carolina."]
  • [Felder] Felder, Rice A. and Felder Publishing Fund. Descendants of James Addison Felder and Flavilla Shuler of Orangeburgh County, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: Felder Publishing Fund, 1980. FHL 929.273 F332f
  • [Funchess] Linder, Billy Royce. The German Ancestry of the Orangeburg, South Carolina, Funchess Family. Arlington, Va.: B.R. Linder, 1997. FHL 929.273 F962L
  • [Gleaton] Branch, Grace N. and A. Lorraine Gleaton. Genealogical Record of Joe (Isaac) Gleaton, Our Immigrant Ancestor of London, England, and Orangeburg County, South Carolina with Allied Families. Fla.: Gleaton, 1941. FHL 1321183 Item 5
  • [Gleaton] Branch, Grace N. and Gleaton Family Association. Gleaton Memorial Book of Remembrance: A Genealogical Record of Joseph Isaac Gleaton, Our Immigrant Ancestor of Orangeburg, South Carolina, with Allied Families. Lutz, Fla.: G.N.G. Branch, 1975. FHL 929.273 G477g 1975
  • [Gleaton] Brewer, Ranny Elizabeth. Our Gleaton Connection. Whitewater, Fla.: R.E.G. Brewer, 1986. FHL Collection 929.273 G477b
  • [Golsan] Golsan, Page E. and James M. Black. The Golsan Genealogy. Typescript. Microfilmed 1982. FHL Collection 6017846
  • [Goodwyn] "Dinwiddie Co., Va., Richland and Orangeburg Districts, S. C., Goodwyns," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 8, No. 2, Supplement (Oct. 1899):26-37. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [Gramling] Gramling, Kenneth Earl. The Adam Gramling Family, ca. 1750-1985. Typescript. Microfilmed 1987. FHL Collection 1320635 Item 52
  • [Heldebrand] Harrell, Helen Odum. The Heldebrand Heritage. New Braunfels, Texas: H.O. Harrell, 1980. FHL Collection 929.273 H366hh
  • [Heller] Heller, J. Roderick. An Upcountry Chronicle: The Heller Family of South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Carnton Press, 1998. FHL Collection 929.273 H367hjr
  • [Holley] Day, William H. and Sammie Jean Holley. A Genealogical History of the Holley Family and Waters Family. Danville, Ind.: W.H. & S.J.H. Day, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 H724dw
  • [Holman] Holman, Olive B. German-Swiss and Scotch-Irish Settlements in South Carolina: Brownlee--Holman and Collaterals. Anderson, S.C.: O.B. Holman, 1937. FHL Collection 1429791 Item 1
  • [Houser] Black, James M. A Record of the Houser Family of Orangeburg Dist., S.C. Typescript. Microfilmed 1972. FHL 896608 Item 1
  • [Howell] Clark, Betty Lane. Joseph Howell, Revolutionary Soldier of Old Barnwell District, S.C.: and Allied Families. Typescript, 1971. FHL Collection 907986 Item 1
  • [Inabnit] Lefvendahl, Georgie Inabinet Adams. The Inabnit Family of South Carolina Volume III. Some of the Inabnit, Inabnet, Inabinett Families of Colleton, Charleston, and Lower Orangeburgh Districts and Counties. Orangeburg, S.C.: n.p., 1970. FHL 929.273 In1L
  • [Jennings] Lemmon, Lawrence Clifton. The Golden Years: A Biographical Narrative Depicting the Life of Ruth Jennings Lemmon, Beloved Wife of the Author. FHL Collection 921.73 L543LL
  • [Jones] Salley, A.S. "Lewis Jones, of Roxbury and Watertown, Massachusetts, 1640-1684, and Some of His Descendants in the South," The Southern History Association, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Mar. 1904):147-156; Vol. 8, No. 3 (May 1904):219-232. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.
  • [Jones] Jones--Sams--Scott Family Bible Records, 1833-1960, and Jones--Scott and Allied Families Records, ca. 1615-1959. MSS. Microfilmed 1960. FHL Collection 219477 Item 14
  • [Linder] Linder, Myrtle Kinard and Billy Royce Linder. Southern Linders: Jacob Simon Linder of Colleton County, South Carolina. Smoaks, S.C.: M.K. Linder, 1988-. FHL Collection 929.273 L643Li v. 2
  • [Livingston] Livingston, Lucius Wilmot. Historical and Genealogical Record of John Livingston the First of Orangeburg County, South Carolina. Orangeburg, S.C.: L.W. Livingston, 1940. FHL 929.273 L762LL 
  • [Mackay] Albergotti, William Greer. Abigail's Story, Tides at the Doorstep: The Mackays, LaRoches, Jenkinses, and Chisolms of Low Country, South Carolina 1671-1897. FHL Collection 929.273 M192aL
  • [McElmurray] Rouse, Norma Uldine Smith. The Descendants of James McElmurray, Through Son, Patrick, 1745-1818. Albany, Ga.: N.U.S. Rouse, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 M152r
  • [McGrew] McGrew, Clinton Jackson and Gilbert Eugene McGrew. Alexander McGrew Genealogy of Amelia Township, South Carolina. Spring Hill, Fla.: C.J. McGrew Jr., 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 M178mc; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; 1995 update: FHL Collection 929.273 M178mc supp. 1-2
  • [McMichael] Simpson, Leah Beth Houeye and Pauline Connolly Wayne. Descendants of William Cephas McMichael and Elizabeth Baxter Jennings: First McMichaels in the Florida Parishes. Amite, La.: L.B. Simpson, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 M228s
  • [McMichael] Application papers of Mrs. Willie Tomlinson Durham and Olga Faye Durham Hargrove for Georgia Society, D.A.R. MSS. Microfilmed 1992. FHL Collection 1697698 Item 24
  • [McMichael] McMichael, Lois. Trailing Our Ancestors : McMichael - Maddux, Maddox - Lindsey and Allied Families. Athens, Ga.: N.R. Leathers, 1994. FHL Collection 929.273 M228mL
  • [Meckler] Lytton, Eugene R. Jacob Mickler III, 1803-1857, a Florida Pioneer, and His Wife, Manuela Hilary de Mier: the Minorcan Connection: A Genealogy. Copperhill, Tenn.: E. R. Lytton, [199_]. FHL Collection 929.273 M583L
  • [Metts] Waites, Thomas Abner, Virginia Draffin Waites, and Theresa M. Hicks. Meetze, Metze, Mutze, Metz, Muetze, Metts, Mutz, Meetz. Columbia, S.C.: T.A. Waites, 1982. FHL Collection 929.273 M472w
  • [Metts] Metts, Richard W. Descendants of Christopher Metts of South Carolina, 1761 to Present. Moncks Corner, S.C.: Metts Genealogy Services, 1989. FHL Collection 929.273 M568me
  • [Mickler] Wellons, Grace C. Hartley and William B. Wellons. Frederick Hartley: Florida Pioneer and His Descendants, 1783-1998. Lake Placid, Fla.: Big Lake Press, 1998. FHL Collection 929.273 H255w
  • [Mintz] Moore, A. and Bob J. Vogels. Mintz Families of the Old South: A History and Genealogy of Those Mintz Who Trace Their Ancestry to the Southern States of North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. Wilmington, N.C.: A.G. Moore, 1992. FHL Collection 929.273 M781mi
  • [Moore] Moore, Earl. The Moores of Madison County, Illinois and Related Families: A History and Genealogy. [Wooddale, Ill.]: E. Moore, 1982. FHL Collection 929.273 M781mea
  • [Murray] Black, G. Monroe. Echoes in Time: The Murray, Connor and Moorer Families of South Carolina. Salem, Mass.: Higginson, 1997. FHL Collection 929.273 M961bg
  • [O'Bannon] DeHuff, Elizabeth Willis. The Family of Thomas O'Bannon of Fauquier County, Virginia, and Barnwell County, South Carolina. Augusta, Ga.: E.W. DeHuff, 1969. FHL Collection 929.273 Ob1d
  • [Oliver] Lefvendahl, Georgie Inabinet Adams. Oliver - Sistrunk Families, Orangeburg Area, South Carolina. Typescript, 1964. FHL 874756 Item 1
  • [Ott] Miller, Peggy Ann Easterling. "The Ott Family" of Orangeburg District. 1986. FHL 929.273 Ot8p 
  • [Phillips] Hughes, Nancy Caroline Phillips. Hugh Phillips: Some of His Descendants Including Allied Families of Bolin, Blewer (Bluer), Reidheimer, Salley, Schuler (Shuler) and Winningham. Columbia, S.C.: N.C.P. Hughes, 1995. FHL Collection 929.273 P541h
  • [Pou] Black, James M. The Pou Family of South Carolina, Alabama, and Mississippi. Typescript. Microfilmed 1986. FHL Collection 1321350 Item 3
  • [Ratcliff] Debenport, Jane Clancy. The Descendants of Joseph Ratcliff of Bienville Parish Louisiana: Including the Families of Jeter, Wimberly, Davis, Dubberly, Wood, Hardy, Carmichael, Mathews, Norris and McKinney. Midland, Texas: J.C. Debenport, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 R186d
  • [Roberts] Roberts, Harry D. and Mrs. Leonard W. Stevens. Roberts Family Research. Malibu, Calif.: H.J. Roberts, 1974. FHL Collection 929.273 R542a; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Salley] Salley, Olin J. and Salley Family Historical Committee. A History of the Salley Family, 1690-1965. Aiken, S.C.: Salley Family Historical Committee, 1977. FHL Collection 929.273 Sa34b. 1982 supplement: FHL Book 929.273 Sa34b supp. 1
  • [Sandel] Sandel, Mary E. and Elias Wesley Sandel. The Descendants of John Peter Sandel and Cullen Conerly and Their Allied Families of Tynes, Warren, Tabor, Bullock, Perkins, Wilkinson (7 Royal: Lineages), Nobles, Lee, Lea, Ball, Felder Including 10 Revolutionary Soldiers. [Florien? La.]: M.E. Sandel and E.W. Sandel, 1985. FHL Collection 929.273 Sa56sm
  • [Segrest] Segrest, Freddie Hart and Phala Jordan Tatem. The Segrest Saga the Descendants of Henry and Margaret Segrest of Orangeburg, North [South] Carolina. n.p.: Hartline Publishing Co., 1994. FHL 929.273 Se38sf
  • [Simmons] Hendrix, Ge Lee Corley. Ancestor Chart of George W. Addison. 1985. FHL Collection 929.273 Ad25h
  • [Sistrunk] Lefvendahl, Georgie Inabinet Adams. Oliver - Sistrunk Families, Orangeburg Area, South Carolina. Typescript, 1964. FHL 874756 Item 1
  • [Slappey] Hargrett, Felix. The Slappeys of South Carolina and Georgia: A Sketch: With a Glance at the Allied Family Hatfield. Athens, Ga.: F. Hargrett, 1984. FHL Collection 929.273 A1 no. 4430
  • [Snelgrove] Snelgrove, Price Charles. Freeman Snelgrove and Some of His Descendants. Alford, Fla.: P.C. Snelgrove, 1993. FHL Collection 929.273 Sn27sp
  • [Snell] Moffitt, Johnnie Lea. Our Snell / Fergeson Family Tree. Arlington, Texas: J.L. Moffitt, 1988. FHL Collection 929.273 Sn27mj
  • [Spicer] Spicer, David Michael. Heritage & Kinfolk. Santa Rosa County, Fla.: D.M. Spicer, 2004. FHL Collection 929.273 Sp41sd; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Suther] Scott, Carol S. The Reverend Samuel Suther V.D.M. 1722-1788 German Reformed Minister of the Two Carolinas: and Some of His Descendants to the Fifth and Sixth Generations. Hanover, Conn.: C.S. Scott, 1993. FHL Collection 929.273 Su84sc
  • [Syfrett] Syfrett, Harold W. The Book of Syfretts-Syphretts from Orangeburg, South Carolina 1752-1994. Charleston, S.C.: H.W. Syfrett, 1994. FHL 929.273 Sy29s
  • [Tatum] Linder, Billy Royce. Christopher Tatum of Orangeburgh District, South Carolina; and Perry, Greene, and Jasper Counties in Mississippi, 1795-1870. Vienna, Va.: B.R. Linder, 1975. FHL 929.273 T188L
  • [Theus] Middleton, Margaret Simons. Jeremiah Theus: Colonial Artist of Charles Town. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1991. FHL Collection 921.73 T44m
  • [Ulmer] Daniel, H.H. Ulmer. Bay Springs, Miss.: Daniel, Harlan H., [1974?]. FHL Collection 929.273 UL5d
  • [Valentine] Greer, Richard Dale. Valentine Family History. MSS., Larkin Edwards Room of the Shreveport Memorial Library. FHL Collection 2243264 Item 1
  • [Varnado] Simmons, William W. Data Pertaining to Richard Simmons Family (1770-1814) and Other Families of Pike County, Mississippi. Cleveland, Miss.: William W. Simmons, 1955. FHL Collection 929.273 Si47sw
  • [Vernadeau] Varnedoe, William W., R. Frank Varnado, Harrell D. Varnado, and Doris Varnado Green. The Family of Leonard Vernadeau and Sarah Hutto, Three Generations being a History of the Origin and First Three Generations of the Descendants of Leonard Vernadeau and Sarah Hutto of Orangeburg District, South Carolina. n.p.: The Descendants of Leonard Vernadeau, 1971. FHL 929.273 V593v
  • [Whetstone] Vaughan, Opal Frances. Elizabeth Whetstone Armstrong (1840-1888): Ancestors and Descendants. Arlington, Texas: O.A. Vaughan, 1986. FHL Collection 929.273 Ar57v
  • [Wingard] Martin, Joann. The Wingard Family History. Livermore, Calif.: J. Martin, 1986. FHL Collection 929.273 W726m
  • [Wise] Bauer, William Rudolph. Reconstruction of the Genealogy of the Wise Family of the Congarees. Columbia, S.C.: W.R. Bauer, 2001. FHL Collection 929.273 W754b
  • [Wolfe] Bryan, David M. "Tracing a Family Line through a Burned County: The Wolfe Family of the Forks Section of Orangeburg County," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 30, No. 2 (Spring 2002):75-89. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 30
  • [Yonce] Yonce, Luther V. "Yonce" Families in the United States of America: Nationality, German: Pennsylvania in 1738, Virginia about 1765, North Carolina about 1768, South Carolina before 1772, Ohio late 1788, Kentucky in 1807, Tennessee early 1800, Missouri in 1838, Mississippi mid 1800, Arkansas mid 1800, and More. Knoxville, Tenn.: Tennessee Valley Pub., 1993. FHL Collection 929.273 Y8yL
  • [Young] Jenkins, Frank Duane. Ahnentafel (Table of Ancestors). Typescript. Microfilmed 1973. FHL Collection 924107 Item 3
  • [Young] Jenkins, Frank Duane. Genealogy William Young, Sr., Holland to Orangeburg, 1735. Ballinger, Texas: F.D. Jenkins, 1975. FHL 929.273 Y87a
  • [Youngblood] Lant, Kay Freels and Kathryn Libbert Freels. Southern Indiana Youngbloods: Their Ancestors and Descendants. Evansville, Ind.: K.F. Lant, 1968. FHL Collection 929.273 Y88L; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


  • Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society. Orangeburgh Immigrants and First Families. Orangeburg, S.C.: Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society, 1990. FHL Collection 975.779 D2o

Land

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information abou types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records for Orangeburg County:

Tracing Land Currently in Orangeburg County with Parent Counties and Districts [5]
Date Government Office
1868-Present Orangeburg County
1868-1908 Lexington County
1865-1868 Orangeburg District
1785-1865 Records Lost (1) (2)
1710-1785 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants

(1) Some Orangeburg District deeds were recorded in Charleston District and were not destroyed
(2) Orangeburg District, Orangeburg County, 1791 Lexington County (only deeds 1839-1865 remain) and Lewisburg County records destroyed by fire

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868

This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants

The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.

Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories

Maps

Migration

  • Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society. Orangeburgh German Swiss Newsletter. 1981-. FHL 975.779 F25o FHL 1421655 Item 5
  • Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society. Orangeburgh Immigrants and First Families. Orangeburg, S.C.: Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society, 1990. FHL 975.779 D2o
  • Ravenel, Daniel. Liste des François et Suisses: From an Old Manuscript of French and Swiss Protestants Settled in Charleston, on the Santee and at the Orange Quarter in Carolina, Who Desired Naturalization, Prepared Probably about 1695-6. 1822; reprint, New York: Knickerbocker Press, 1888. FHL 975.7 W2rL; digital version at World Vital Records ($).

Early migration routes to and from Orangeburg County for European settlers included:[6]

Military

The Battle of Eutaw Springs was fought in Orangeburg County, South Carolina.

Revolutionary War
  • "Foot Rovers aka Raccoon Co., 1775," Rice Planter, Summer 2003, Volume 11, Issue 2. Rice Planter / Old St. Bartholomew Chapter: Columbia, SC.
  • "Wm. Paulling pension, 1832," Orangeburg German-Swiss Newsletter, Fall 2000, Volume 8, Issue 4. Orangeburg German Swiss Genealogical Society: Orangeburg, SC.
  • "Captain Jacob Rumph's Company, 1783," Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, March 1964, Volume 98, Issue 3. Daughters of the American Revolution: Washington D.C. FHL Collection
  • "Casualty list, Eutaw, 1781," Carolina Genealogist, Fall 1971, Issue 5. Heritage Paper: Danielsville, GA 30633. FHL Collection
  • Ruple, Jack D. Orangeburg documents. Little Rock, Arkansas: J.D. Ruple, c1987. FHL Collection Book 975.77 R28r Fiche 6010949
War of 1812
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Orangeburgh County [sic], p. 187. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Civil War service men from Orangeburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Orangeburg County.

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A - (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers) and Company C - (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company E - (also known as James D. Trezevant's Cavalry and Fort Motte Rangers)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hagood's), 1st Company A ( also know as Bamburg Guards or Glover Guards), Company B (also known as the Jamison Guards), Company C ( also know as Bamburg Guards or Glover Guards), 1st Company D ( also known as the St. Matthews Rifles and the Keitt Guards), and 2nd Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company I (also known as the Edgefield Hussars or formerly known as Company A, Cavalry Battalion, Hampton Legion, and the Edgefield Dragoons)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company F
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company A, Company C, and Company G
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company C, Company F, Company I
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company D (also known as the Wassamassaw Cavalry or Wassa Massaw Rangers)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company I (also known as the Rebel Troops), a few from Orangeburg
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company G
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company A and Company I
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company I (also known as Jasper Light Infantry)
Before Reorganization Roster, After Reorganization Roster
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company A
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company C and Company H
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company A, Roster
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 11th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves(90 days 1862-63), Company G and Company H
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B and Company D
- 14th Regiment, South Carolina Militia, Company C and Company E
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Militia , Company G
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company E, Company F, Reorganized Company B, Reorganized Company D, Reorganized Company H, and Reorganized Company I
- 25th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Eutaw Regiment), Company G

Other Resources

  • Culler, Daniel Marchant. Orangeburgh District, 1768-1868: History and Records. (Spartanburg, South Carolina: Reprint Co., c1995), 737 pages. Scope of the work was the story "between the American Revolution and the Civil War, and before it became Orangeburg County. Book found in FHL 975.779 H2c and Other Libraries.
  • Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society. Orangeburg CSA enrollment roster, 1864. (Orangeburg, South Carolina: Orangeburg German-Swiss Geneal. Society, 1991), 29 pages. List of persons reporting for enrollment in Orangeburg for possible military service in the Confederate Army. Book found in FHL 975.779 M2o

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Orangeburg County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • Huxford Genealogical Society Quarterly
  • Orangeburgh German-Swiss Newsletter FHL Collection
  • South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research (Family History Library book 975.7 B2sc .)

Periodicals to Search (esp for early colonial period)

(1971) Carolina Genealogist us/can 975 B2cg (no. 1-15...several books). Inside there is a list for: The Giessendanner Register, John Giessesndanner, V.D.M. all marriages and baptisms done by him about 1739-1760 and records for REV RICHARD BRYAN Methodist episcopal church 1784(1799 marriage)-1825. These records and MUCH more are in the periodical with references for source. This is a much needed article for somebody searching in early Orangeburg. See also PERSI in Find my past and the FHL Catalog.

Probate

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[7] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. Archival records include estate papers from 1790-1893 from the court of ordinary and probate court records, along with other corollary papers. Statewide Will Transcriptions, 1782 to 1855, database is available online with a searchable index by name. Images are available.

Microfilm indexes of Orangeburg County probate estate papers, 1865-1947, are available at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History and at the Family History Library (FHL Film 358416). Original will records available at the county probate court and on microfilm for 1866-1957 at the Department of Archives and History and the FH Library (FHL Film 358417).

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Orangeburg County.
  • Federal Excise Tax Records Add Dimension to Family History, 1789-1817, 1861-1864, Orangeburgh German-Swiss Newsletter, Vol. 13, No. 2 (Summer 2008).
  • 1818 Tax List for St. Matthews Parish South Carolina Pioneers
Original sources
Published abstracts
  • 1818 - St. Matthews Tax List, 1818, South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Summer 1973); Vol. 1, No. 4 (Fall 1973).
  • 1851 - Tax Records, 1851, Huxford Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Summer 1974); Vol. 1, No. 3 (Fall 1974); Vol. 1, No. 4 (Winter 1974).
  • 1851- Tax List, 1851, South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Winter 1979); Vol. 7, No. 2 (Spring 1979).

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth

State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Orangeburg County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Orangeburg County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages - Indexes and Records

  • Marriages of Lexington, Newberry, and Orangeburgh [sic] Counties, South Carolina by Martha H. Spivey [8] WorldCat - index
  • 1911-1951 - Marriage Licenses (Orangeburg County, South Carolina), 1911-1951 [9] FHL Collection - reocords
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Orangeburg County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Orangeburg County Library System The Orangeburg County Library has six branches and a bookmobile, with the main branch in Orangeburg. An extensive collection of local history and genealogy materials is available at the Orangeburg County Library. The library system has a presence on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

Library Catalog

Main Branch
Address:
510 Louis Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115
Driving Directions via Google Maps
Telehone: (803) 531-4636
Fax: (803) 533-5860
Hours of Operation: Monday & Tuesday: 9 AM - 8 PM, Wednesday - Friday: 9 AM - 6 PM, Saturday: 9 AM - 5 PM, closed holidays

Holly Hill Branch
Address:
8441 Old State RD
Holly Hill, SC 29059
Telephone:: (803) 496-7177
Hours of Operation: Monday - Thursday: 1:30 PM - 5:30 PM, Friday: 9 AM - 1:00 PM, Saturday: Closed

Mentor (Elloree) Branch Library
Address:
2626 Cleveland ST
Elloree, SC 29047
Telephone: (803) 897-2162
Hours of Operation: Monday 2:00 PM - 5:30 PM, Tuesday 1:30 PM - 5:30 PM, Wednesday 2:00 PM - 5:30 PM, Friday 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM, Thursday & Saturday Closed

North Branch Library
Address:
9316 North RD
North, SC 29112
Telephone: (803) 247-5880
Hours of Operation: Monday, Tuesday & Friday: 2 PM - 5:30 PM, Wednesday: 9 AM - 1:30 PM, Thursday & Saturday: Closed

Santee Branch Library
Address:
119 Dazzy CR
Santee, SC 29142
Telephone: (803) 854-5300
Hours of Operation: Monday, Tuesday & Thursday: 1:30 PM - 5:30 PM, Wednesday: 10 AM - 1 PM, Friday & Saturday: Closed

Springfield Branch Library
Address:
210 Brodie ST
Springfield, SC 29146
Telephone: (803) 258-1100 b
Hours of Operation: Monday, Tuesday & Thursday: 1:30 PM - 5:30 PM, Wednesday: Closed, Friday: 10 AM - 1 PM, Saturday: Closed


The Salley Archives of the Orangeburg County Historical Society maintains a collection of genealogical materials including original source documents from 1735-present, family genealogies, general genealogical reference and other materials concentrating on South Carolina and Orangeburg County. It also houses the genealogical library of the Orangeburgh German-Swiss Genealogical Society.

Salley Archives
Orangeburg County Historical Society

Address: 1421 MIddleton St, PO Box 1881
Orangeburg, SC ;29116-1881
Telephone: (803) 535-0022
Email: ochs@orangeburgh.org
Hours of Operation: Tuesdays 9:00 am to 12:00 noon, Wednesdays 9:00 am to 3:00 pm, and 1st Saturday of each month 10:00 am to 2:00 pm. Other days/times by Appointment.


The Elloree Heritage Museum & Cultural Center exhibits an educational view of South Carolina's rural past, portraying rural life when the Town of Elloree was founded by William J. Snider.

Elloree Heritage Museum & Cultural Center
Address: 2714 Cleveland Street
PO Box 54
Elloree, SC 29047
Phone: 803-897-2225
Fax: 803-897-2252
Hours of Operation: Wednesday - Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm; closed holidays

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

2740 Broughton St
Orangeburg, Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Phone: 803-531-5531
Hours: By appointment only.
Closed: Call listed telephone number for an appointment.

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage

Orangeburg County Historical Society
1421 MIddleton St, PO Box 1881
Orangeburg, SC 29116-1881
Telephone: (803) 535-0022 Email: ochs@orangeburgh.org
Website:www.orangeburgh.org


Orangeburg German-Swiss Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 974
Orangeburg SC 29116-0974
source: Society Hill
Website: ogsgs.org

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Orangeburg County, South Carolina

References

  1. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  2. "A History of Orangeburgh District" in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/orangeburgh_district_sc.html (accessed 10 May 2011).
  3. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  4. "A History of Orangeburgh District" in Orangeburg District, South Carolina, http://www.carolana.com/SC/Counties/orangeburgh_district_sc.html (accessed 22 April 2011).
  5. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  7. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  8. Spivey, Martha H., Marriages of Lexington, Newberry, and Orangeburgh Counties, South Carolina, Lexington, SC (P.O. Box 1262, Lexington 29072): WeSearch Publications, ©1999.
  9. South Carolina. Probate Court (Orangeburg County), Marriage Licenses (Orangeburg County, South Carolina), 1911-1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005.

...