Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Orange County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Orange County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 County Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Family Histories
- 4.7 Land
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 4.15 Yearbooks
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Orange County is located in the North-Central portion of North Carolina and was named for William V of Orange, the infant grandson of King George III of England.
Orange County Courthouse
200 S Cameron St
Hillsborough, NC 27278
Courthouse burned 1789
Registrar of Deeds has Birth and Death rec from 1913
marriage and land records from 1754, divorce records from 1869
probate records from 1756 and court records from 1865
Register of Deeds
PO Box 8181
Hillsborough, NC 27278
Clerk of Superior Court
106 E Margaret Lane
Hillsborough, NC 27278
Telephone: (919) 644-4500
Orange County NC was created out of parts of Bladen, Granville, and Johnston counties in 1752. At that time, it comprised a large section of the middle of the NC colony, extending halfway from the VA line to the SC line. It was named for the infant William V of Orange. His mother Anne, who was a daughter of King George II of England, was the dowager princess of the Dutch Republic.
At the time that the county was formed, there were 5 Native American tribes living in the area.
As other counties were created out of parts of Orange’s territory, these counties were created wholly out of Old Orange: Chatham (1771), Caswell (1777) and Person (created out of Caswell in 1791), and Alamance (1849). Other sections of the old county were combined with parts of other counties to create: Guilford (1771) –which gave birth in turn to Randolph (1779) and Rockingham (1785) — Wake (1771), Durham (1881), and Lee (1907). After all of this, Orange County was just a fraction of its original size.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1781--Some records were lost/destroyed when they were buried to avoid destruction by Cornwallis during the Revolutionary War.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
For tips on accessing Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Rocky River, near Siler City, N.C. Organized about 1757. Now located in Chatham County.
- South Country Line or Waters of Haw River. Constituted 1783.
Church of England
- St. Matthew's Parish. Established 1752.
- Eno. Founded in 1755.
- Hawfields. Founded about 1755. Now located in Alamance County. Official website.
- Clendenin - White, Jo White. "Clendenin of Orange County, North Carolina: An Exercise in Southern Genealogical Problem Solving," The Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Fall 1985):186-190.
- Thompson - Buchanan, Jane Gray. Thomas Thompson and Ann Finney of Colonial Pennsylvania and North Carolina, Lawrence, Closs, and John Thompson. Allied Lines of Finney, McAllister, Buchanan, and Hart. Oak Ridge, Tenn.: J.G. Buchanan, 1987. FHL Collection.
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
- -13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- -1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company I
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company D
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company I
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company K
- -3rd Battalion, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Mark Durham's Company
- -3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, 2nd Company G
- -6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
- -6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
- UNC Black Student Movement Newspapers (1969-1981) -- available from the NC Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project, North Carolina State Archives. Search full text newspapers published in Hillsboro.
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Orange County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1752 - 1946 - Will Books 1 to 13 and A to M (1752-1946) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1755 - Tax Lists, Onslow County, 1755 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1755 - Tax Lists, Orange County, 1755 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1755 - Tax Lists, Orange County, 1755 (images) online at FamilySearch
- 1755 - 1755 Tax List of Orange Co., N.C., 1st tax list (transcript) online at FamilySearch
- 1755 - 1755 Tax List of Orange County, North Carolina (transcript) online at FamilySearch
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Orange County, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Orange County, 1779 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 -North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
The Durham-Orange Genealogical Society of North Carolina
PO Box 4703
Chapel Hill, NC 27515-4703
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Orange County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Orange County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- USGenWeb Orange County Archives - many additional genealogical records of all kinds
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orange County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "Rocky River Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Donna Sherron, "North Carolina Parishes," accessed 12 October 2012. Digital version at Lost Souls Genealogy - free.
- "Old Eno Church and Cemetery," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Hawfields Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.