To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Online German Gazetteers and Parish Register Inventories

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Definitions[edit | edit source]

Gazetteer: a list of all localities within a given jurisdictions, such as a county, duchy, state, province, or empire. Information provided may vary depending on the original purpose of the publication and may include different government jurisdictions, church parish(es), population-, area,-and tax information, post office, description, history, and more.

Parish register inventory: A listing of parishes within a given jurisdiction. It usually includes information about extant parish registers by type, time period covered, and accessibility.

General[edit | edit source]

German Empire[edit | edit source]

Prussia (Preußen)[edit | edit source]

  • "Prussia, Municipality Gazetteer" - A complete set of the Gemeindelexikon Preußen (1905) volumes. Browse images by volume. Find this set on the Ancestry website by going to "search"; then enter "Gemeindelexikon" in the "keyword search" field. (Hint: A search in the "title" field brings up only the "Gemeindelexikon der im Reichsrate vertretenen Königreiche und Länder", a gazetteer for the Austro-Hungarian Empire.)
  • Various volumes of the Gemeindelexikon Preußen (1885, 1895, or 1905 editions) are also available on GoogleBooks and the DigiBib (Genealogy.net)

Regional gazetteers and parish register inventories[edit | edit source]

A number of gazetteers and parish register inventories are available in the Digital Library-Geographie, Kartographie, Topographie of the German Society for Computer Genealogy. . New titles are added regularly.

Alsace-Lorraine (Elsass-Lothringen)[edit | edit source]

Baden[edit | edit source]

Bavaria (Bayern)[edit | edit source]

Berlin[edit | edit source]

Brandenburg[edit | edit source]

Bremen[edit | edit source]

Brunswick (Braunschweig)[edit | edit source]

East Prussia (Ostpreussen)[edit | edit source]

Hamburg[edit | edit source]

Hannover[edit | edit source]

Hessen[edit | edit source]

Hessen-Nassau[edit | edit source]

Hohenzollern[edit | edit source]

Lippe-Detmold[edit | edit source]

Lübeck[edit | edit source]

Mecklenburg-Schwerin[edit | edit source]

Mecklenburg-Strelitz[edit | edit source]


Oldenburg[edit | edit source]

Palatinate (Pfalz)[edit | edit source]

Pommern[edit | edit source]

Posen[edit | edit source]

Rheinland[edit | edit source]

Saxon Duchies[edit | edit source]

  • Anhalt
  • Saxe-Altenburg (Sachsen-Altenburg)
  • Saxe-Coburg and Gotha (Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha)
  • Saxe-Meiningen (Sachsen-Meiningen)
  • Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach (Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach)
  • Reuss-Gera (Junior Line)
  • Reuss-Greiz (Senior Line)
  • Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
  • Sondershausen

Saxony [Kingdom] (Königreich Sachsen)[edit | edit source]

Saxony [Prussian province] (Provinz Sachsen)[edit | edit source]

Schleswig-Holstein[edit | edit source]

Silesia (Schlesien)[edit | edit source]

Thuringia (Thüringen)[edit | edit source]

Die Evangelischen KIrchenbücher Thüringens ( Güldenapfel, 1934)

Waldeck-Pyrmont[edit | edit source]

Westfalen[edit | edit source]

Westpreussen[edit | edit source]

Württemberg[edit | edit source]