Oldland, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Oldland, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oldland, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Keynsham
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1731; For more records see Bitton
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OLDLAND, a hamlet, in the parish of Bitton, union of Keynsham, Upper division of the hundred of Langley and Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 5 miles (E. S. E.) from Bristol. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Oldland, Gloucestershire chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
OLDLAND Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1854 1813-1854 1849-1858 1849-1858 1813-1853 1813-1853
FREG 1584-1681 1584-1681 1584-1681


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Keynsham Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Reference[edit | edit source]