Old Windsor, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Old Windsor, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Old Windsor, Berkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Windsor|
|Parish registers: 1755|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WINDSOR, OLD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Windsor, hundred of Ripplesmere, county of Berks, 2 miles (S. E. by S.) from Windsor. 
At Windsor Great Park, situated on the river Thames, there was also built a chapel (of ease) in the Great Park, a royal donative chapel, built by George IV for the accommodation of his household, and later used for the gentry, tenants, and keepers connected with the royal domains (by about 1790).
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Old Windsor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Old Windsor Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1594-1940, 1755-1813||1594-1940, 1755-1813||1594-1940, 1755-1813|
|FS Catalog BTs||1612-1836||1612-1836||1612-1836|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Particular Baptist
- Protestant Dissenters
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Old Windsor in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51412 A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.