Old Romney, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Old Romney

Guide to Old Romney, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Old Romney, Kent
Old Romney St Clement Kent.jpg
Old Romney St Clement Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History

Old Romney is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent.

Old Romney St Clement is an Ancient Parish and as the name suggests formed the original settlement of Romney Marsh. This was also the original port of Romney which gradually extended along the Rother toward the sea with either end called "Old" and "New" Romney. As the harbour silted up the importance of Old Romney lessened and soon only St Clement and the settlement remained by the 17th century.

The village and civil parish are on an island in the River Rother estuary,known in Roman Times as Vetus Rumllenum. The village church of St Clement is Norman in origin with later additions and restoration.

The church of St Clement, Old Romney has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 439-445. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The church has been a film location for two films. The 1960's restoration of the church was funded by the Disney Corporation who preferred to film here rather than at Dymchurch for Dr Syn, Alias The Scarecrow (1962) Also known as "The Scarecrow of Romney Marsh": based on the novel by Russell Thorndike. Walt Disney felt that the story of a fictional smuggling vicar of Dymchurch was better set in this location.
The Loves of Joanna Godden (1947) Based on the novel "Joanna Godden" by Sheila Kaye-Smith was also fimed here.

Derek Jarman,film maker, is buried in the churchyard.Find a Grave

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Old Romney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Old Romney Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Census records


Census returns for Old Romney 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

ROMNEY, OLD (St. Clement), a parish, in the cinque-port liberty of Romney, union of RomneyMarsh, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (W. by N.) from New Romney. [2]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 690-695. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.