Oktibbeha County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Oktibbeha County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Starkville
Organized: 23 December 1833
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Choctaw  • Clay  • Lowndes  • Noxubee  • Webster  • Winston
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiOktibbehaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Oktibbeha County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named using a Native American word "Oktibbeha" meaning "bloody water". Oktibbeha County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Oktibbeha County Courthouse
101 E Main Street
Starkville, MS 39759
Phone: 662-323-5834
Oktibbeha County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1880 and land records from 1834.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records.[3]

Oktibbeha County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1861 1 Nov 1912 1880 1834 1880 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1880 Some records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1833 Oktibbeha County was created 23 December 1833 from the Choctaw Cession.
  • County seat: Starkville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Oktibbeha County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 4,276
1850 9,171 114.5%
1860 12,977 41.5%
1870 14,891 14.7%
1880 15,978 7.3%
1890 17,694 10.7%
1900 20,183 14.1%
1910 19,676 −2.5%
1920 16,872 −14.3%
1930 19,119 13.3%
1940 22,151 15.9%
1950 24,569 10.9%
1960 26,175 6.5%
1970 28,752 9.8%
1980 36,018 25.3%
1990 38,375 6.5%
2000 42,902 11.8%
2010 47,671 11.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Oktibbeha County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Oktibbeha County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Webster CountyClay CountyLowndes CountyNoxubee CountyWinston CountyChoctaw CountyMS OKTIBBEHA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Oktibbeha County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oktibbeha County:

- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [became the 48th Regiment, Missippi Infantry]
Company - Oktibbeha Reserve (or "Oktibbeha Rescue" -- records not clear), aka Capt. Joel P. Rogers’ Company (also known as Co. K)
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's))
Company I - Robinson’s Company
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
Oktibbeha Reserve (or "Oktibbeha Rescue" -- records not clear), aka Capt. Joel P. Rogers’ Company (also known as Co. K)
- Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company F - Montgomery’s Company
Company I - Bookter’s Company
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Gholson Guards

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Oktibbeha County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Oktibbeha County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Historical Society of Oktibbeha County
    206 Fellowship St
    Starkville, MS 39759-3378

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Oktibbeha, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oktibbeha_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oktibbeha County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Oktibbeha County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oktibbeha_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 1 October 2019.