Oklahoma, United States Genealogy
|Oklahoma Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Oklahoma ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Oklahoma Information[edit | edit source]
Oklahoma is a state in the south central United States. The capital is Oklahoma City & it is divided into 77 counties. Oklahoma was admitted to the United States as the 46th state on 16 Nov 1907. It was created from Oklahoma Territory & Indian Territory.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Oklahoma Research
Links to articles on getting started with Oklahoma research.
Oklahoma Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Oklahoma research.
Oklahoma Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Oklahoma Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
Arkansas River · Butterfield Overland Mail · Canadian River · Cimarron River · Red River · Chisholm Trail · Santa Fe Trail · Atlantic and Pacific Railroad · St. Louis–San Francisco Railway · Texas and Pacific Railway
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- 2001-2014 - Currentobituary.com index, 2001-2014 at FamilySearch — index
- Digital Archives from the Oklahoma State University, a varied selection of resources.
- Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Department's new 'genealogy' section aids those looking for ancestors in Oklahoma.
- Cyndi's List - Oklahoma genealogy sites on the internet
- Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Oklahoma
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Oklahoma
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for Oklahoma genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Oklahoma
- Oklahoma Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.