Okewood, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Surrey
Surrey Parishes
Okewood


Guide to Okewood, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Okewood, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wotton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Dorking
Registration District Dorking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

Oakwood, or Okewood, a chapelry in Abinger, Wotton, Ockley, parishes adjacent to Sussex, 5¼ miles N W by N of Horsham r. station, and 8½ S S W of Dorking.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Okewood, Surrey Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1700
1697
1701
Indexes 1700-1875 FamilySearch[2] 1697-1751 findmypast[3] 1701-1865 findmypast[4]
1853-1867
1869-1876

Ancestry[5]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.
  2. Batches C013392, P013391, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 15 April 2012.