Okehampton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Okehampton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Okehampton|
|Parish registers: 1634|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
OAKHAMPTON, or Okehampton (All Saints), a market-town and parish, the head of a union, and formerly a representative borough, partly in the hundred of Black Torrington, N. division, but chiefly in the hundred of Lifton, Lifton and S. divisions, of Devon, 22 miles (W. by N.) from Exeter, and 198 (W. by S.) from London. It includes the hamlets of Kigbear, Cheesacott, Brightley, Lower Fartherford, Meldon, Southacott, and Maddaford. St. James' chapel, a small building, originally founded as a chantry, belongs to the corporation. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Okehampton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Okehampton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Okehampton on GENUKI