Ogna Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Ogna, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Ogna is a parish in Egersund clerical district. Records begin in 1664. They contain the parishes Ogna and Egersund (Eigersund) with landsognet and ladestedet. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. 1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district at Digitalarkivet.
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district. Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 37) for Egersund clerical district includes Ogna and Egersund parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. 1801-telling for Egersund at Digitalarkivet.
The 1855 census of Egersund clerical district includes these parishes: Egersund and Ogna. It lists the farm name, persons name, age, occupation, miscellaneous information and statistics. It also includes an extraction of the births, deaths, and marriage from the church records for the years 1856 to 1875 for Ogna parish.
- 1865 Census - Folketellingen den 31te desember 1865 for Egersund.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. 1865-telling for Egersund at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling for Egersund at Digitalarkivet.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.
These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, Hå, Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
Farm books with vital information on farm residents in Nærbø, Hå, and Ogna, Rogaland co., Norway. Hå community includes Varhaug and Vigrestad in Jæren district. (Corrections for Varhaug and Vigrestad are found in Vol. 3 Ogna, pages 295-299.)
Edland, Torgeir, "Gards og ættesoge" Hå: Hå kommune, 1971-1975. 948.31/H3 D2ea Vol. 1 for Nærbø-- Vol. 2 for Hå-- Vol. 3 for Ogna FHL Intl Book
History of farms and families in the vicinity of Ogna, Rogaland, Norway. Includes Topdal, Risnes, Eikeland Aua, Matningsdal, Homse and Nordre Hetland, and Vetteland.
Tjåland, Johan, "Øvra Bygdå": folket og eigedomane gjennom dei siste 500 åra," Matningsdal [Norway] : J. Tjåland, 2004 948.31/O1 D2t FHL INTL Book
FArm Names[edit | edit source]
28 Bjelland store, 27 Bø, 15 Bogsdalen, 18 Bru, br>
31 Egren, 38 Eigelands-Aua
34 Foreholen, 22 Fristad, 28 Fuglestad
29 Halland søndre, 30 Haugsengen, 6 Haver, 34 Heresvele, 32 Hetland nordre, 11 Hetland søndre, 39 Homse, 10 Hylland,
2 Kalvshagen, 5 Kinnervaag, 28 Kirkeneset, 19 Kvalbein, 20 Kvasseim, 21 Kvasseimsheien, 25 Kverme
28 Langholen, 13 Lintjøn,
35 Matnisdal, 14 Mjølhus
12 Ogne, 8 Ognesanden
37 Risnes, 23 Roligheden
26 Sandve, 8 Sirevaag, 9 Sørskog, 8 Steinen, 24 Stokkeland, 24 Stovebakken, 4 Stølen,
32 Teigene, 36 Tovdal
17 Varden, 1 Vatnemo, 3 Vatnemoholmene ,16 Veggeberget, 33 Vetteland
Bø, Bogsdalen, Bru,
Hadland, Haugseng, Haver, Herredsvela, Hetland, Hølland, Homse,
Kalvehagen, Kindervåg, Kvalbein, Kvasheim, Kvasheimheien, Kverme med Brusand,
Sandve, Sirevåg, Søre-Hetland, Sørskog, Stølen, Stokkeland,
Topdal eller Tofdal, Tovdal,
Varden, Vatnamot, Vatnamothomane, Veggeberg, Vetteland,