To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ogliastra, Sardinia, Italy Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Italy Research Topics
Roman Forum
Beginning Research
Record Types
Italy Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
IT Locator Map Italy Ogliastra.png


Guide to Ogliastra province ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

In 2016 Ogliastra was annexed and all of its municipalities but one joined the Province of Nuoro. The municipality of Seui joined the newest Province of South Sardinia. Wikipedia For genealogical guidance prior to 2016, see Nuoro, Sardinia, Italy Genealogy.

History[edit | edit source]

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Online civil registration records and church recordsfor the municipalities of Ogliastra are listed in the FamilySearch catalog under Nuoro:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Italy, Nuoro.
b. Click on "Places within Italy, Nuoro" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Civil Registration" or "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Birth, Marriage, and Death Records After 2015[edit | edit source]

Writing for Civil Registration Certificates[edit | edit source]

Civil registration records of Ogliastra can be obtained by writing to the local civil registry. Civil officials will generally answer correspondence in Italian. Your request may be forwarded if the records have been sent to the tribunale or the provincia.

Address list for municipalities of Ogliastra
Format for address for local office: use this address as a guide, replacing the information in parentheses:

Sindaco
Comune di (name of the locality)
(Street address, if known)
(postal code) (city) (Province abbreviation:OG)
Italy

Address for provincial office:

UFFICIO ANAGRAFE E STATO CIVILE
Piazza Gallura 3
07029 Tempio Pausania (OT)
Italy

After you have determined what office has jurisdiction over the records you need, write a brief request to the proper office. Write your request in Italian whenever possible. For writing your letter in Italian, use the translated questions and phrases in this Italy Letter Writing Guide. Send the following:

  • Cashier’s check or international money order (in local currency) for the search fee. See How To Send Return Postage and Money.
  • Full name and the sex of the person sought.
  • Names of the parents, if known.
  • Approximate date and place of the event.
  • Your relationship to the person.
  • Reason for the request (family history or medical).
  • Request for a complete extract of the record


If your request is unsuccessful, search for duplicate records that may have been filed in other archives or search in church registers.