Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Oglethorpe County

Guide to Oglethorpe County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Oglethorpe County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Oglethorpe County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded 19 December, 1793
County Seat Lexington
Courthouse
Address Oglethorpe County Courthouse
PO Box 261
Lexington, GA 30648-0261
Phone: 706.743.5270
Oglethorpe County Website


County Information

Oglethorpe County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1795

1800
1794
1794


County Courthouse

Oglethorpe County Courthouse
PO Box 261
Lexington, GA 30648-0261
Phone: 706.743.5270

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and burial records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1794[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 68
111 W. Main Street
Lexington, GA 30648
Phone: (706) 743-5731
Fax: (706) 743-5335

Probate Court of Oglethorpe County
P.O. Box 70
Lexington, GA 30648
Phone: 706-743-5350

History

Parent County

1793--Oglethorpe County was created 19 December 1793 from Wilkes County. County seat: Lexington [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clarke County  • Elbert County  • Greene County  • Madison County  • Oconee County  • Taliaferro County  • Wilkes County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Oglethorpe, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Oglethorpe County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaoglethorpe.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 63rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Confederate States of America. Army. Gilmer Blues. 1965. This they remembered: the history of the four companies and those in other companies, who went from Oglethorpe County to serve in the War between the States: The Gilmer Blues, The Oglethorpe Rifles, The Tom Cobb Infantry, The Echols Artillery. Washington, Georgia: Washington Pub. Co. (Entire Book) 975.8175 M25u
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Oglethorpe County). 1957. Disabled or invalid Confederate soldiers roll 1881-1895 and Confederate Veterans Association of Oglethorpe Co., camp roll & minutes 1889-1931. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 158794

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oglethorpe County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1875 - 1876 - Oglethorpe County Birth Index Books 1, 2, and D 1875-1876. Batch C713471 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Oglethorpe Historical Society
PO BOX 307
Lexington, GA. 30648-0307

Website

East Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oglethorpe County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 47. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.