Ogden FamilySearch Library/GenealogyBitsAndPieces

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Home Calendar & Schedule Genealogy Research Forms Family History Guide Partner Sites Ogden Temple Info Indexing Family History Helps Utah Societies Genealogy Bits and Pieces Nationalities & General Websites/Resources

Genealogy Bits and Pieces

ANCESTRY

Main topics include: Home Page navigation, creating and managing trees, importing GEDCOM files, linking people in FamilySearch to Ancestry, attaching hints, merging duplicates and research strategies.
Handout: Ancestry Course
Handout: Ancestry (Sullivan)
Handout: Four Ways to Make Ancestry Work for You (Sullivan)
Handout: Researching with Ancestry (Sullivan)
Handout: Introduction to Ancestry (Bradford)

Family Tree: Descendancy Research

Add new family members to your tree using the Descendancy View in FamilySearch. Learn where to start searching for spouses and children. Learn how to find, evaluate, and attach sources to find these new relatives.
Handout: Using Descendancy in FamilySearch
Descendancy Research Presentation (Schaefermeyer)

Family Tree: Duplicates (Matching and Merging)

It might be exciting to find your great-grandmother in FamilySearch Family Tree. But what about finding her four times—each record with a little different information?
Duplication can feel bewildering and frustrating. And yet finding an ancestor more than once in Family Tree is a fairly common occurrence. The reason for these duplicates (the term used when there are multiple records for the same individual) is because information in the tree comes from a variety of sources and because users can enter their own information directly into the tree. This class will teach you how to use FamilySearch features to resolve these duplications.
Handout: Matching and Merging Duplicates
Handout: Finding and Merging Duplicates in Family Tree (Montague)
Handout: FamilySearch Duplicates (Bradford)
Presentation from BYU Family History Library (Kathryn Grant)
Presentation - Duplicates (Schaefermeyer)

FamilyTree: Record Hints and Sourcing

If you’ve poked around on your family tree on FamilySearch.org, you may have seen little blue boxes to the right of some of the names of people on your tree or in a Research Help box on the top right side of the individual screen. These blue boxes indicate there are record hints, which are shortcuts designed to help you find information about your family as painlessly as possible. FamilySearch is constantly scouring their digitized, indexed records to identify records that may match your family and these blue boxes signal to you that they might have succeeded. Linked to actual records that may include your family, these little hints can make a big difference on your family tree.
Handout: Record Hints and Sourcing (Pearson)
Handout: Record Hints and Sources (Sewell)
Handout: Sourcing and Record Hints (Schaefermeyer)
Handout: Hints and Sources (Bradford)

FamilyTree: Memories,

Learn how to upload and tag pictures, stories, documents and audio files using the FamilySearch Memories feature.
Handout: FamilySearch Memories
Handout: Memories (Montague)
Handout: FamilySearch-Memories (Bradford)
Video - Adding Photos (FamilySearch)
Handout: Adding Photos (FamilySearch)

FamilyTree: Navigation

Handout: Navigation (Blake)
Handout: FamilySearch - Navigation (Bradford)

Findmypast

Learn how the features of this family history program. Findmypast has the largest collection of UK and Irish Parish records. They have the largest British and Irish newspaper collection and most comprehensive British military service record collection. Findmypast is a FamilySearch partner.
Presentation: FindMyPast (Orman)
Presentation: FindMyPast (Schaefermeyer)

Getting Started - Where Do I Begin

Learn how to gather information from home, interview parents and relatives to get information about your ancestors and enter it into FamilySearch.
Handout: FamilySearch Getting Started (Bradford)
Handout: Where Do I Begin? (Schaefermeyer)

Web Indexing Handouts

Learn the ins and outs of how to be a successful web indexer.
Handout: Web Indexing
Handout: Web Indexing (Montague)

MY HERITAGE

MyHeritage is an online genealogy platform with web, mobile, and software products and services. Users of the platform can create family trees, upload and browse through photos, and search billions of global historical records, among other features.
Handout: My Heritage (Orman)

Attaching Documents As Sources

Handout: Attaching Documents as Sources (FamilySearch)

The Snipping Tool

  • The Snipping Tool is a free program on Microsoft programed computers.
Handout: Snipping Tool

Must Be Signed In to Google for those sites to work

COUNTRY SPECIFIC

British Research (1837-Present)

The first effective census for researchers occurred in 1841 with the most recently released being 1911. Finding ancestors in households, with siblings and parents creates a snapshot in time, and opens up other avenues of family history research to family members.
In recognizing the need for more accurate record keeping, the government began Civil Registration on July 1, 1837. The records of births, marriages and deaths in England and Wales are available to everyone and a valuable resource for that time period.
Handout: England & Wales–Census & Civil Registration Records (McKinstry)
Handout: British Isles Research (Orman)
Handout: British Research 1837-Present (Bradford)

England & Wales – Records of the Church and Their Poor (Pre-1837)

The Church of England and Wales, as the governing body for centuries, not only recorded parishioners’ life events but managed their affairs. They maintained the roads, paid the bell ringer and supplied spiritual guidance. One of their most enduring works was to serve the poor. Apprenticeship records, bastardy bonds and settlement/removal papers aid in identifying family lines accurately.
Handout: Records of the Church & Their Poor (Pre-1837) (McKinstry)
British Research Handout Pre-1837 (Bradford)

Crossing the Pond

Research strategies on what records are available, and where to find those records. Locate where your ancestors came from, how they traveled to America, where they settled and how to locate Naturalization records.
Handout: Crossing the Pond (Orman)
Handout: Immigration-Crossing the Pond (Hammons)
Handout: Immigration Quick Sheet (Hammons)

Danish Research

Patronymic naming -- Danish Counties and Parishes -- How to read Danish Parish Records -- How to find names using Danish URL sites.
Handout: Denmark Class (Petersen)
Handout: Danish Research Log (Petersen)

Irish Research

It is not true that all the records of Ireland were destroyed. Civil Registration (1845-present), Census records (1901 & 1911) and Church records (pre-1845) can aid in your Ireland research. Understanding jurisdictions, immigration patterns and land records will enable you to locate your family and be proud of your Irish heritage.
Handout: Finding Irish Ancestors–19th & 20th Centuries (McKinstry)
Handout: Irish Research (Bradford

New England Research

Researching ancestors from Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Vermont and New York.
Handout: New England Research (Hammons)

Scotland Research

(Beginner/Intermediate) A safe and very reasonably priced pay-as-you-go web site, “ScotlandsPeople” is one of the largest online sources of original, digitized records. From census records to civil registration, old parochial & Catholic registers, wills, valuation rolls and military records, it is a treasure trove of affordable discoveries for anyone researching in Scotland either in the past or in the present.
Handout: Scotland’s People – The Ultimate Research Web Site (McKinstry)

OTHER ITEMS

American Ancestors - FamilySearch Center Premium Site

American Ancestors is a FamilySearch Premium Website that contains collections from the 17th century colonial New England to the 20th century. This site is an online repository, not limited to to New England, for more than 1 billion searchable names from America and beyond. The class will help you unlock this valuable resource. (American Ancestors can be accessed FREE at the St. George FamilySearch Center; otherwise, this is a paid subscription site for at home use.)

Handout: American Ancestors - Premium Site (Hammons)

Breaking Brick Walls

At some point, every family historian encounters a barrier in their genealogy research. These barriers are known as brick walls and they can often appear impossible to work around. These items will give you ideas and resources to help you up and over your brick wall.
Handout: Breaking Brick Walls (Hammons)

Census Records: Getting to Know about Your Family in the Federal Census

Discover how to find information in census records about you relatives. Learn how to locate, compare and find facts about names, marriages, home addresses, moves, children, occupations, siblings and parents, education level, grandchildren, birth dates, maiden names, property ownership and assets, new spouses, relatives next door, farms and more.
Handout: Census Research (Sullivan)
Handout: Census Quick Sheet (Hammons) (Orman)

Cyber Security

Learn about protecting your home's computer connection to the Internet.
Cyber Security - Part 1 (Orman)

DNA

Your DNA can help you find family, break through brick walls and trace your lineage through time. There are multiple companies who sell ancestry DNA kits and provide you with ancestral information. To learn more about the specifics of DNA, click this link to the FamilySearch Research WIKI - About DNA

Family History Guide

Spanish version Handout: Family History Guide-Spanish (Ellsworth)

FamilySearch Apps

Many individuals equate genealogy with names, dates, and dusty old records. That can be part of it, but the worth of memories (pictures, stories, audio and video) is much greater. The free FamilySearch Memories app helps users capture family memories, photos and even conversations.
Handout: FamilySearch Memories App
Handout: Family History on Your Tablet

FamilySearch: Games and Activities

This class teaches simple family history games and activities available online. What a fun way to make a boring subject fun and exciting. Most of the games require a FamilySearch account and at least 30 ancestors in your family tree.
Handout: No Time to Prepare Games and Activities (Merrell)

FamilySearch WIKI

The FamilySearch Wiki is a tool, not only for guiding your research through a specific location, but it will help you locate vital records, give you links to free online website, help you find unique collections for your particular location, link you to free record collections, and much much more.
Handout: FamilySearch WIKI (Hammons)

Find a Grave

The following topics are discussed: Brief History of Find A Grave -- How to do the searches -- How to contribute information -- How to create a memorial page
FindAGrave
Handout: FindAGrave (Bradford)

Finding An Ancestor to Take to the Temple

Learn to use at least one of these search programs -- Find-A-Record, Puzilla, Hope Chest, Wooden Village, BYU Virtual Pedigree, and FamilySearch Descendancy -- to find ancestors who are prepared to go to the Temple.
Presentation: Find A Name (Orman)

Google and Internet Research

The Internet is a source rich with Family History content, and much of that content is not on FamilySearch or Ancestry. This will help you harness that power by showing you how to use the Internet safely and effectively. You will be shown other search engines, but most features will be shown using Google Tools for Genealogy, which are powerful and free.
Handout: Google & Internet Searches 2018 (Hammons)
Handout: Google Quick Sheet 2018 (Hammons)
Handout: Advanced Google Search Strategies (Schaefermeyer)
Handout: Google Earth (Hammons)

Land and Probate Records

Why Land and Probate? These records are called the backbone of Genealogical Research because they apply to more people in America than any other record [including the census]. The are findable, readable and there is a county wide index from the 1600's. They are the most re-created record in the case of a court house being burned. They lead also lead you to other records. Land and probate records can be valuable in other countries.
Handout: Land and Probate Records (Hammons)
Presentation: Land and Probate (Sullivan)

Logs and Timelines

Logs and Timelines are two of your best tools for Family History Research. A research log helps your organize and track your work, and prevents duplication of your resources. A timeline puts your ancestor in context, helps you spot problems and gaps in your research and helps identify where you need to search next. This will help you learn how to create, store and use these great genealogy tools.
Handout: Logs and Timelines (Hammons)

Memories and Stories

Handout: Family Tree Memories: Stories Workshop (D Bradford)

Military Records

Military records can often provide valuable information on the veteran, as well as on all members of the family.
Handout: Military Records (Stingel)
Handout: US Military Records (R Montague)

Online Libraries

Digital libraries give family history researchers access to books, wills, stories, pictures, and audio files that have been elusive because of their physical location at a physical library. Digitizing books and library collections makes volumes of information available to all by using various online library sources.
Using Online Books for Family History Research (Schaefermeyer)
Handout: Using Free Online Archives and Libraries for Family History (Hammons)

Why Do Family Historians Need A Proof Standard?

Research Article on Proof Standard

Wooden Village

Wooden Village is the newest website tool that can help you find names of relatives in need of ordinances. It contains several apps that assist in finding sources, possible duplicates, data problems, and ancestors with missing spouses or children.
Handout: Wooden Village (Sullivan)