Oddernes, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Oddernes, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Contains parish records from the parishes Oddernes and Randesund. Oddernes clerical district included the parishes Øvrebø, Vennesla and Hægeland (Heggeland) in 1704 and these were divided from Kristiansand. Oddernes parish was again under Kristiansand clerical district in 1805. The parishes Øverbø, Vennesla and Hægeland became at that time Vennesla (Øverbø) clerical district and the records for these parishes are listed in Vennesla clerical district. Oddernes became its own clerical district again in 1825 with the parishes Oddernes and Randesund.
Microfilmed records at the Family History Library are from 1692-1933.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1663-1666: Manntall 1663-66 for Lister prosti Database at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 34) for Oddernes clerical district includes Oddernes and Randesund parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1012 Oddernæs Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1012 Oddernæs Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1012 Oddernæs Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910
Database at Digitalarkivet.
6 Andaas 9 Andøen 13 Augland ytre 20 Augland øvre 22 Aurebæk 5 Berge 10 Bragdøen 8 Brøvig 49 Dalen 26 Dalene 39 Egstø 37 Eidet 24 Espestøl 14 Fiskaa 43 Flademyr 43 Fladen 35 Gil 37 Gjusnes 30 Glattetræ 14 Gorpedalen 36 Greppestøl 31 Hagen 15 Hannevig 38 Haugen 29 Haus 13 Jagtodden 34 Jægersberg 12 Kjos 4 Kjære 42 Kongsgaard 43 Kongsgaards Parceller 7 Kroodden 48 Kuholmen 43 Køita 43 Lahelle [ ] 17 Langemyr 32 Liene 3 Lindebø 1 Lindehaugen 1 Mebø 28 Mosby ytre 14 Myren 23 Mæstad 7 Møvig 46 Narvigen 1 Oksø 33 Paaskeberget 38 Præstegaarden 39 Præstegaardsløkkerne 38 Præstøen 16 Præstøen i Torridal 6 Rislevigen 21 Rybestøl 1 Sillenes 2 Skaalevig 43 Skaaret 32 Skraastad 7 Spinneren 43 Stemmen 2 Storegren 19 Strai ytre 50 Stranden 25 Stølen 33 Sødal 43 Topdalstø 32 Tungen 11 Vaaje 43 Vaskervigen 47 Vige 47 Vigemyren
Farm names listed in Rudjord's Oddernes Bygdebok Gardhistorie 1968 are as follows:
Andøya, Andås, Augland ytre, Augland øvre, Aurebekk, Berge, Bjørndalen, Bragdøya, Brøvik, Dalane, Dalen, Espestøl, Fiskå, Frydendal, Gimle, Gjel, Gjusnes, Glattre, Greppestøl, Hagen, Hannevika, Haus, Jægersberg, Kjere, Kjos, Kongsgård, Kongsgård fiskeri, Kongsgård parseller, Kuholmen, Langemyr, Lindebø, Mebø, Mestad, Mosbø ytre, Mosbø øvre, Møvik, Narvika, Prestegarden, Prestegårdsløkkene, Prestøya, Rypestøl, Skråstad, Skålevik, Strai ytre, Strai øvre, Stranden, Stølen, Sødal, Tobienborg, Vige, Våje, Wahlhalla, Ytre Augland, Ytre Mosbø, Ytre Strai, Øvre Augland, Øvre Mosbø, Øvre Strai
Oddernes, Kåre. Oddernes Bygdebok Gardhistorie. Kristiansand: Edgar Høgfeldt A.S. 1968