Oconto County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Oconto County

Guide to Oconto County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Oconto
Organized: February 6, 1851
Parent County(s): Brown County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Brown  • Forest  • Langlade  • Marinette  • Menominee  • Shawano
See County Maps
Courthouse
Oconto County Courthouse WI.jpg
Location Map
WI Oconto.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Oconto River. The County has Oconto as its seat and the County was created 1854. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Oconto County Courthouse
301 Washington Street
Oconto, WI 54153-1621
Phone: 920-834-6800
Oconto County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
Clerk of Courts has divorce records and court records.
Register in Probate has probate records.[3]

Oconto County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1876 1859 1838 1857 1860

Record Loss

County’s first courthouse burned down in 1891.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1851- Oconto County was created 6 February 1851 from Brown County.
  • County seat: Oconto[4]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Oconto County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Oconto County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Oconto census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
Morgan

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Morgan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Oconto County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Oconto County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Stiles Lutheran Church

  • Records of Stiles Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI OCONTO.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Oconto served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Oconto:

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies F and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Oconto Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Oconto Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

  • Pre-1907 Births, Marriages and Deaths at Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay - $, the research center will make a search

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Archives and Area Research Center
    Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
    2420 Nicolet Dr.
    Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
    Phone: 920-465-2539
    Email: archives@uwgb.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
    Archives and Area Research Center
    2420 Nicolet Dr.
    Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
    Phone: 920-465-2539
    Email: archives@uwgb.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Museums

Societies

  • Oconto County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 114
    Suring, WI 54174
    Email: ocgs@ez-net.com
    Website
  • Gillett Area Historical Society & Museum
    PO Box 85
    110 W. Main St. - Hwy 22
    Gillett, WI 54124-0085
    Email: info@historical.com
  • Mountain Historical Society
    PO Box 198
    Mountain, WI 54149
    Website
  • Oconto County Historical Society
    PO Box 272
    917 Park Ave.
    Oconto, WI 54153
    Phone: 920-834-6206
    Email:ochs@ocontohistsoc.org
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Oconto County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oconto_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.