Ocean Shores Washington Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.



The Ocean Shores Family History Center (FHC) has been very popular with local family history researchers. It is available to serve members of the community free of charge. The Center is open to the public and all are encouraged to visit and let us help you find your family history! The FHC is a branch library of the FamilySearch Genealgocail Library located in Salt Lake City, Utah. The main library was founded in 1894.

Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location:

  • 928 Albatross Street, Ocean Shores WA 98569 United States
  • Location Map
  • We are located in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint's building. Entrance is at the South door. The Center is just to the right upon entrance. Ample free parking is available.

Center Contact Info:

  • Text mesg; 907-723-1765
  • OceanShoresFamilyHistoryCenter@gmail.com
  • Ocean Shores Family History Directors:
    • Michael & Carole Dindinger [michael.dindinger@gmail.com or 907.723.1765]

Open Hours:

  • Weekly Scheduled hours
    • Monday's from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
    • Wednesday's from 6:00pm to 8:00pm
    • Thursday's from 10:00am to Noon
  • Holidays: We are closed for all Federal/State holidays
  • The Center is closed for the months of November and December each year
  • We occasionally close unexpectedly because of inclement weather or illness

Classes Offered at the Family History Center[edit | edit source]

We have workshops scheduled periodically throughout the year that are advertised locally at the Ocean Shores Public Library, North Beach Genealogical Society, as well as direct email notifications. These workshops are presented in a large open area where patrons can bring laptops for use. All workshops are FREE to the public.

Family History Workshop Schedule Calendar online

Church Members Free Access to Partner Websites[edit | edit source]

Register for Church Member Access to Ancestry.com, findmypast, MyHeritage, and American Ancestors. Training is available from the Branch Family History Consultants or from staff at the Family History Center. Make an appointment directly.


Center Resources[edit | edit source]

The following premium websites must be accessed from one of the two computers in the Center's FHC Portal. The programs are not accessible via internet for free nor through the building Wi-Fi system.

·        19th Century British Newspapers – [http://find.galegroup.com/bncn] This fully searchable database of the British Library’s newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.

·        Alexander Street Press (American Civil War Collections) – [http://alexanderstreet.com] This database contains research data: containing indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. The Letters and diaries contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. Images, photographs, posters,and ephemera provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images. Finally, women and social movements in the United States covers the organization around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000 A.D.[edit | edit source]

·        American Ancestors [http://americanancestors.org] This database was created by the New England Genealogical Society, the American Ancestors website allows searches in a variety of different databases including 19th-century newspapers, court and probate records, genealogies, journals and periodicals, and immigration records.[edit | edit source]

·        Ancestry.com (Family History Library Edition)—Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.

·        ArkivDigital Online – [http://www.arkivdigital.net] This is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents.

·        FamNet – [http://www.nzgdb.com.nz]  This online family history network for those who have New Zealand roots.

·        Findmypast –  findmypast makes it easy to research your United Kingdom ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records, and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers.

·        The Genealogist – Gold Level Subscription – [http://www.thegenealogist.com] The Gold Premium subscription gives you access to Census (1841-1911), BMD’s, non-conformist and non-parochial records, PCC Wills and Will Indexes, Poll Books, Directories, School Registers, Military, Landowner records plus many more.

·        Geneanet – [http://geneanet.org] With 3 billion referenced individuals and 600,000 trees online, Geneanet is the first site dedicated to genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden, and Germany. The Geneanet community has 2 million members who exchange genealogical information.

·        Kinpoint – Premium – [https://kinpoint.com] Kinpoint is designed to make it easier for you to do your family history. It lets you see what to work on at a glance, helps you quickly find missing information in your family tree, and helps you discover insights into the lives of your ancestors.

·        Newspaper Archive – [http://www.newspaperarchive.com] Search 15,454 historic newspaper archives from 42 countries and all 50 US states and 3 US territories. Read, clip, save, and share old newspaper articles about 8.5 billion people.

·        Newspapers.com – [https://newspapers.com/]  The largest online newspaper archive contains 12,100 newspapers from the 1700s to the 2000s, and millions of additional pages are added every month.

·        Paper Trail, A Guide to Overland Pioneer Names and Documents – Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.

·        ProQuest Obituary Listings -- ProQuest Obituaries delivers only obituaries and death notices in full-page format. The search interface is flexible and the results are stellar. If you have ancestors in any of the cities listed above, ProQuest Obituaries can make a remarkable difference in your research.

·        Puzzilla – Premium Services – [https://puzzilla.org] Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in FamilySearch Family Tree.

You also have the capability of trying out various genealogy software available for your own computers. Those programs available at the Center are: Legacy 9.0, Ancestral Quest 15, and RootsMagic 7.


Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]


Links[edit | edit source]