Oakland County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Oakland County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Oakland County, Michigan|
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
|Founded||January 12, 1819|
|Address|| Oakland County Courthouse|
1200 N Telegraph Rd.
Pontiac, MI 48341
Oakland County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Land
- 5.7 Local Histories
- 5.8 Maps
- 5.9 Military
- 5.10 Newspapers
- 5.11 Obituaries
- 5.12 Probate
- 5.13 Taxation
- 5.14 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County has Pontiac as its seat and the County was created January 12, 1819. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Oakland County, Michigan Record Dates
The town of Rochester was formed at about the time Ann Arbor was formed in Washtenaw County, Michigan. It is north and west of Detroit. The Mack Family built the road that ran from Detroit to Pontiac and the road which split off that and went to Rochester.
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Avon (extinct) - now Rochester Hills
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.|
- Irwin I. Cohn Michigan Jewish Cemetery Index - online index to more than 64,000 Jewish burials from the mid-1800’s to 1999.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Emigration and Immigration
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Oakland County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
- Family Maps of Oakland County, Michigan Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Maps of Michigan (1790-1897)
Civil War service men from Oakland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Oakland County.
- - 1st Regiment, Michigan Cavalry, Company G
Finding More Michigan Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Oakland County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Oakland and search for Probate records in the list.
- Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1797 – 1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch — images
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:
- Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
The Oakland County Clerk's office provides certified copies of Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates for these events that occurred in Oakland County. Birth Records prior to 1935 or Marriage/Death Records prior to 1942 are available in person or by mail only while other years can be requested online. Birth Records over 100 years old, all Marriage Records, and all Death Records are public information. Birth Records less than 100 years are available only to eligible persons.
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch — index
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
North Oakland Genealogical Society
825 Joslyn Rd.
Lake Orion 48362
Oakland County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1094
Oakland County Pioneer and Historical Society
405 Oakland Ave.
Northwest Oakland County Historical Society
306 So. Saginaw St.
- List of Michigan Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical and Genealogical Societies
- Oakland County Genealogical Society, Website.
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Bloomfield Hills Michigan Family History Center 37425 Woodward Ave, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304 United States
- Pontiac Michigan Family History Center 5464 Waterford Rd, Clarkston, MI 48346 United States
- Rochester Michigan Family History Center 1618 Brewster Rd, Rochester Hills, MI 48306 United States
- Oakland County, MI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Michigan Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Michigan Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Oakland County MI Genealogy (Michigan Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Oakland County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oakland_County,_Michigan."
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oakland County, Michigan page 349, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).