Oakham, Rutland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Oakham, Rutland)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Rutland
Rutland Parishes
Oakham


Guide to Oakham, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oakham, Rutland
All Saints Oakham Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oakham-Soke
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office

Parish History

OAKHAM, or Okeham (All Saints), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the soke of Oakham, county of Rutland, of which it is the chieftown, 95 miles (N. N. W.) from London. At Egleton is a chapel of ease; and there are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Oakham, market town, par., and county town of Rutland, 13½ miles W. of Stamford and 96 miles from London by rail - par., 3130 ac., pop. 3227; town (comprising the townships of Oakham Deanshold and Oakham Lordshold), pop. 3204; P.O., T.O. Market-days, Thursday and Saturday. Oakham is situated in the fine vale of Catmose, and is a healthy and well kept town. Its trade is chiefly in coal, corn, and malt; while there are considerable mfrs. of boots and shoes, and fancy hosiery. Brewing is also carried on. Oakham is the assize town of Rutland.[2]


The Victoria County History of Oakham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oakham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Rutland Parish Registers, 1538-1991 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Rutland Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812 (Ancestry) - ($) (includes Rutland)
ANC 2 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($) (includes Rutland)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Oakham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1991
1538-1991
1538-1991
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1931
1538-1991
ANC 1 1532-1812
1532-1812
1532-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1912
1813-1912
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Record Office for Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland and the Northamptonshire Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. Bartholomew,, John, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk