Nye County, Nevada Genealogy
Guide to Nye County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
The county was named in honor of James W. Nye, Governor of Nevada Territory and later United States Senator from Nevada. It's county seat is Tonopah and was founded 1864. It is located in the Southcentral area of the state.
Nye County Courthouse
Nye County, Nevada Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in the county:
Other locations identified as being in this county or with different links
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Nevada. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Nevada. Records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded all of present day Nevada. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. The land that would someday be southern Nye County was once part of Taos, San Juan (1861-1862 only), Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Socorro counties of New Mexico.   Look for records in Dona Ana County, Socorro County, Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Taos, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 10 Nov 1864 - Mohave County was created as one of the four original counties in Arizona.  This county named for the Mojave Indians. Look for records in Mohave County.
- 22 December 1865 - Pah-Ute County was created by Arizona out of the north part Mohave County. Look for records in Mohave County.
- 18 January 1867 - A large portion of Pah-Ute County and a smaller portion of Mohave County was given to Nevada by the US government. Nevada used the land to increase Lincoln and Nye counties. Utah opposed this transfer of land by creating Rio Virgin County which extended out of Utah, covering a large portion of southern Lincoln and Nye counties. Arizona opposed loosing this land, twice petitioned Congress for repeal of the law. Up thru 1868, representatives from Pah-Ute county attended the Arizona legislature. Look for records in Mohave County AZ, Washington County UT, Lincoln County NV and Nye County NV.
- 18 February 1871 - Arizona discontinued Pah-Ute County, finally accepting the loss after exhausting all legal remedies. The remainder of Pah-Ute County AZ was restored to Mohave County AZ. Look for records in Mohave County AZ
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
The following web site has additional information on Nye county cemeteries.
- Interment.net Nevada cemetery records by county.
The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories.  A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875.  See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records
- 1850 - United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1850 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 - United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1860 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 - Nevada, Compiled Census Index, 1860-1910 at Ancestry - ($), index
- 1862-1863 - 1862-1863 Nevada Territory Tax List - Index
- 1875 - Nevada State Census, 1875 at Ancestry.com — ($), index
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Nye – LAND AND PROPERTY
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nevada Land and Property
County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.
- Amargosa, Nevada. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 3 (1994-1995) - v. 3, no. 2 (summer 1994). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Bullfrog. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 3 (1994-1995) - v. 3, no. 2 (summer 1994). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Carrara and the Mining Camps of Bare Mountain. By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 9, no. 1 = no. 33 (2010). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Funeral Mountains: Mining Camps and Mines. By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 6 (1999-2002) - v. 6, no. 4 = no. 24 (2002). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Gold Mountain, Nevada.By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 7 (2002-2004) - v. 7, no. 3 = no. 27 (2004). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Mud Springs Station : Nye County, Nevada. By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 4 (1995-1996) - v. 4, no. 1 (spring 1995). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Preserving the Glory Days: Ghost Towns and Mining Camps of Nye County, Nevada. c1981. By Shawn Hall. Reno, Nevada : University of Nevada Press. Google Books; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- The Reveille District. By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 8 (2005-2008) - v. 8, no. 4 = no. 32 (2008). At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Sagebrush Chronicles [of] Nye County. c1972. By David Basso. Sparks, Nevada : Dave's Print. & Pub. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Tybo, Nevada. By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 2 (1993) - v. 2, no. 4 (winter 1993). At various libraries(WorldCat).
Online County Histories
- A History of the Tonopah Area and Adjacent Region of Central Nevada 1827-1941. c2011. By Lucile Rae Berg. Tonopah, Nevada : Nye County Press. Online at: Internet Archive; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Births, Deaths and Miscellaneous Information: Gleaned from "Round Mountain Nugget", 1908-1909. c1964. By Nona Parkin. N.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Historic Legends of Nye and Esmeralda Counties. c197? By Fred S. Cook. Pahrump, Nev : The Printery. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries(WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Historical Maps and Atlases of Nevada - maps and atlases of Nevada
- 1861-1865 - Nevada, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1863-1866 - Nevada Civil War Volunteers, 1863-1866 ($) at Ancestry — index
World War I
World War II
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Korea
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Nevada
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Vietnam
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- Vietnam Conflict Casualty Lists - Nevada
For further information see Nevada Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Naturalization Records
For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.
Nevada Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nevada Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- 1809 - 2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1956 - 2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
Records of deaths and burials in Nye, Esmeralda and Mineral Counties with index. Sources include newspapers and funeral homes.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
Gabbs Community Library
602 Third St
Gabbs, NV 89409
Central Nevada Museum/Historical Society
PO Box 326
1900 Logan Field Road
Tonopah, NV 89049-0326
- for research of the history of our area or genealogy
- Free Admission!
- Museum Hours: Tuesday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm
- Saturday 1:00-5:00pm Our facilities are handicapped accessible and a large parking lot is available for all RV's.
Central Nevada Historical Society
1900 Logan Field Road
P. O. Box 326
Tonopah, NV 89049
Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Tri-State Genealogical Society
ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, NEVADA
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Nye County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/nye/ accessed 3/27/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Nye County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nye_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nye County, Nevada page 443. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nye County, Nevada. Page 443. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Nye County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nye_County%2C_Nevada accessed 17 March 2017.
- "Carrara - Nevada Ghost Town". Ghosttowns.com. http://www.ghosttowns.com/states/nv/carrara.html. Retrieved 2016-01-01.
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- Arizona Territorial Laws 1865, 2d assy. pp. 19-20
- U.S. Stat., vol. 14, ch. 73/p. 43; Sacks, 25; Van Zandt, p. 158, 165
- Arizona Territorial Laws 1871, 6th assy. p. 87
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
- ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.