Nova Scotia Census 1861 Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
|Access the Records|
Nova Scotia Census 1861 .
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Nova Scotia, Canada|
|Flag of Canada|
|Location of Nova Scotia, Canada|
|Title in the Language|
|Public Archives, Halifax|
- 1 What is in this Collection?
- 2 What Can these Records Tell Me?
- 3 How Do I Search the Collection?
- 4 What Do I Do Next?
- 5 Citing This Collection
- 6 How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
What is in this Collection?
These records include the 1861 census for the province of Nova Scotia. The census day was March 30, 1860.
Census takers were asked to record information about all those who were in each household on the census day, as well as any who have died since that day. A census taker might have visited a house on a later date, but the information he collected was supposed to be about the people who were in the house on the census day. Enumeration was by census district.
Census districts were voting districts, not counties, although most have the same names as counties. For the most part, census districts were synonymous with cities and counties, and sub districts were synonymous with towns, townships, and city wards. Villages, small towns, and parishes were generally enumerated as part of the township in which they were located. Census district and county boundaries were not always the same, and there were many variations from location to location. Canadian census records were taken to enumerate the population for representation, taxation, and other purposes.
What Can these Records Tell Me?
Census records may contain the following information:
- Marital status
- Family members
How Do I Search the Collection?
You can search the index or view the images or both. To begin your search it is helpful to know:
- The name of your ancestor
- The name of a relative or date of the event
Search the Index
How Do I Analyze the Results?
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images.
|More images are available in the FamilySearch Catalog at Nova Scotia Census, 1861. Click on camera icon to see images.|
What Do I Do Next?
I Found Who I was Looking for, What Now?
- Cite the record. See below for help citing this collection.
- Look at an image of the original record. The original may contain information that was not recorded in the index. To find a copy of the original record, visit the Public Archives, Halifax page.
- To help keep track of your research, you may want to keep a research log. FamilySearch has an example example research log which you can download..
- Church Records often were kept years before government records were required and are a good source for finding ancestors before 1900.
I Can’t Find Who I’m Looking for, What Now?
- If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This can help you find possible relatives.
- Search the records of nearby areas
- Check for other names. An individual might appear under an unexpected name for a variety of reasons:
- - They might have been listed under a middle name, nickname, or abbreviation of their given name.
- -A woman may have returned to her maiden name after the death of her husband.
Citing This Collection
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
- "Nova Scotia Census, 1861" Database. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2017. Citing Board of Registration and Statistics. Public Archives, Halifax.
Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):
How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
| We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records. |
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.