Nova Scotia Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
New Brunswick Wiki Topics
New Brunswick Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Brunswick Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources











History of Nova Scotia Census[edit | edit source]

In 1851 and 1861, New Brunswick was included in the census of the Province of Canada. It was also included in the first Canadian Census in 1871 and every 10 years following. From 1671 to 1752, it was included on the Acadian cenus. Between 1773 and 1848, New Brunswick took its own census. Prior to its establishment in 1784, it was also included in the Nova Scotia census as Sunbury & northern Cumberland Counties.

Canada Censuses Online[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Official Canada Censuses[edit | edit source]

Year Type of Census Links Census Information
1851 Province of Canada FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1861 Province of Canada FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1871 Canada census FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1881 Canada census FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1891 Canada census FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1901 Canada census FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1911 Canada census FamilySearch Library of Canada
Ancestry ($)
Library of Canada
1921 Canada census Ancestry ($) Library of Canada
Library of Canada

Local, Territory, and Province Censuses[edit | edit source]

Province censuses are census records that were taken at the province level. Province censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing Canada censuses.


Year Type of Census Links Census Information
1671 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1678 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1686 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1693 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1695 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1698 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1700 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1701 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1703 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1707 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1714 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1751/52 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1752 Acadian census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription Library of Canada
1752 La Roque's census Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History - transcription
Library of Canada
1761 New Brunswick census (Sackville Settlement) NB GenWeb Project NB Gen Links
1765 New Brunswick census (Sackville Settlement) NB GenWeb Project NB Gen Links
1770-1787 Nova Scotia, Canada, Census, Assessment and Poll Tax Records, 1770-1795, 1827, 1838 Ancestry ($)
1770 New Brunswick census (Hillsborough and Sackville) NB GenWeb NB Gen Links
1770 New Brunswick census (Conway, Sunbury County) NB GenWeb - transcription NB Gen Links
1783 New Brunswick census (Hillsborough and Studholm) NB Gen Links NB Gen Links
1785 New Brunswick census (Cape Ann and Schodiack River) NB Gen Links NB Gen Links
1786 New Brunswick census (Colonel Spray's Land) NB GenWeb NB Gen Links
1788 New Brunswick census (Moncton) NB GenWeb NB Gen Links
1803 New Brunswick census (Sackville Parish) Mount Allison Univerisity - images NB Gen Links
1820-1824 New Brunswick census (Westmorland County) NB GenWeb - transription NB Gen Links
1820 New Brunswick census (Shediac, York Co., Madawaska Settlements, Sackville Parish) NB Gen Links NB Gen Links
1822 New Brunswick census (Military Settlement, Kent Parish) NB GenWeb NB Gen Links
1824 New Brunswick census (Sackville Township) NB Gen Links NB Gen Links
1827 Nova Scotia, Canada, Census, Assessment and Poll Tax Records, 1770-1795, 1827, 1838 Ancestry ($)
1830 New Brunswick census (York Co., Madawaska Settlements) Upper St. John - transcription NB Gen Links
1833 New Brunswick census (Madawaska Settlements) Upper St. John NB Gen Links
1833 New Brunswick census (Madawaska Settlements) Upper St. John NB Gen Links
1837 New Brunswick census (Madawaska Settlements, St. Andrews Road, Charlotte County) NB Gen Links - transcription NB Gen Links
1838 Nova Scotia, Canada, Census, Assessment and Poll Tax Records, 1770-1795, 1827, 1838 Ancestry ($)
1851 New Brunswick census Automated Genealogy - index NB Gen Links
Library and Archives of Canada
NB Scottish History - index, select collection for search
1861 New Brunswick census FamilySearch NB Gen Links
Library and Archives of Canada
NB Scottish History - index, select collection for search
1871 New Brunswick census Library and Archives of Canada - index NB Gen Links
1881 New Brunswick census Library and Archives of Canada - index and images NB Gen Links
1885 New Brunswick census (RC Parish of St. Vincent Ferrier, Sackville, Westmorland County) NB GenWeb - index NB Gen Links
1891 New Brunswick census Library and Archives of Canada - index and images NB Gen Links
1901 New Brunswick census Automated Genealogy - index NB Gen Links
Library and Archives of Canada
1911 New Brunswick census Automated Genealogy - index and images NB Gen Links
Library and Archives of Canada
1921 New Brunswick census Automated Genealogy - index NB Gen Links
NB Gen Links

Non-population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Year Type of Census Links About the census
1871 Mortality Familysearch; index and images

Ancestry.com; index ($)

Additional Resources[edit | edit source]