Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Nottoway County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Nottoway County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Nottoway County, Virginia History
- 3 Nottoway County, Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Biography
- 4.3 Business
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church Records
- 4.7 Court Records
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Historic Residences
- 4.10 History
- 4.11 Land and Property
- 4.12 Maps
- 4.13 Migration
- 4.14 Military
- 4.15 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.16 Newspapers
- 4.17 Occupations
- 4.18 Officials
- 4.19 Probate Records
- 4.20 Public Records
- 4.21 Taxation
- 4.22 Vital Records
- 5 Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Nottoway County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the Nadowa Indian tribe.
Nottoway County, Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Nottaway County Courthouse
328 West Courthouse Road
Nottoway, VA 23955
Some records were destroyed during the civil war
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage divorce and court records from 1865,
land, probate and miliary records from 1789
General compliance year is unknown.
Nottoway County, Virginia History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
22 December 1788: Nottoway County was created 22 December 1788 from Amelia County.
County seat: Nottoway 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Nottoway County, Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Heinegg, Paul. Nottoway County Personal Property Tax List, 1789-1822, Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in this source.
- Records of the field offices for the state of Virginia, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands : NARA, RG105, M1913, 1865-1872 Freedmen's Bureau Marriages 1815-1869
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Featherston "Bible Record of William Featherston (Nottoway Co., Va. - Robertson Co., Tenn.)," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly Bulletin, Vol. 1, No. 3 (July 1963):20.
Biography[edit | edit source]
- Cummins, A. B. Nottoway County, Virginia: Founding and Development with Biographical Sketches. Richmond, Va.: W.M. Brown and Son, Printers, 1970. FHL Collection
Business[edit | edit source]
- Contract book of the Richmond Cooperative Milk Producers Association, 1930-1931 FHL Collection
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 - Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — index
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1850[edit | edit source]
- 1850 census of Nottoway County, Virginia FHL Collection
1860[edit | edit source]
- The 1860 federal census for Nottoway County, Virginia FHL Collection
1890 Union Veterans[edit | edit source]
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection. Includes residents of this county.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Nottoway (1765). Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 68-69.
The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.
Nottoway County fell within the bounds of the Middle District Association.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
See also Nottoway Parish
- Rev. John Cameron's marriage register of Bristol, Cumberland and Nottoway parishes, Virginia, 1784-1815 and other more recent records, mainly of Nottoway Parish FHL Collection
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]
- A brief history of the Blackstone Presbyterian Church 1823-1961. This church was formed in 1824 as a branch of the Nottoway Presbyterian Church. In 1911 it became a separate church. FHL Collection
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Chancery Court[edit | edit source]
- Indexed images of Nottoway County, Virginia Chancery Records 1818-1968 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
Correctional Institutions[edit | edit source]
- A register of persons convicted of felony, etc., 1931-1966 FHL Collection
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
More than 75 genealogies have been published about Nottoway County families. To view a list, visit Nottoway County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Historic Residences[edit | edit source]
- Turner, W. R. Old Homes and Families in Nottoway. Blackstone, Va.: Nottoway Pub. Co., 1950, c1932. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($). For the index compiled by Colonel R. Bolling Batte and the Projects Committee of the Virginia Genealogical Society available at FHL click here.
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- Amelia County, Virginia deeds. Prince Edward County, Va. was not cut off of Amelia County until 1754, and Nottoway County was not cut off until 1789, so this book contains deeds for both of these present-day counties. -- Foreword, v. 1
v. 1. Deed book 1, 1735-1743, and bonds, 1735-1741
v. 2. Deed book 2, 1742-1747
v. 3. Deed books 3-4, 1747-1753
v. 4. Deed book 5-6, 1753-1759
v. 5. Deed books 7-8, 1759-1765
v. 6. Deed books 9-11, 1766-1773
v. 7. Deed books 12-14, 1773-1778
v. 8. Deed books 15-17, 1778-1786. FHL Collection
- Deed records, 1789-1900; general indexes, 1866-1974. Some of the deed books may have been lost during the Civil War. After the war, the numbering of volumes started over with v. 1. FHL Collection
- Returns of processioners, 1795-1824. Contains land processioning records recorded with the County Court which include the land description and who was present at the processioning. FHL Collection
- Some early landowners in southern Nottoway and northern Lunenburg counties, Virginia and the Cocke (Coke) family who once lived there. Contains maps with tract codes and a list of landowners giving the names of grantor and grantee, tract code, year, number of acres, source, and other information. Includes a list of streams and other landmarks and the Cocke (Coke) family genealogy. FHL Collection
Grants and Patents[edit | edit source]
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins and Sullivan. 901 patents dated 1717-1779 in what is now Amelia and Nottoway Counties, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2003. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Nottoway County, Virginia land ownership map, 1864 FHL Collection
Migration[edit | edit source]
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K. B. Elliott, 1966. Includes individuals who migrated out of Nottoway County to other parts of the country. FHL Collections
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Nottoway County men served in the 49th Regiment.
- Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Nottoway County.]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Nottoway County, p. 96. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E (Nottoway Troop).
- - 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Nottoway Rifle Guards) and Company G (Nottoway Grays).
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Meherrin Grays).
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- The Nottoway Artillery and Barr's Battery, Virginia Light Artillery FHL Collection
- Southside Virginia in the Civil War : Amelia, Brunswick, Charlotte, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, & Prince Edward counties FHL Collection
- Minute book for the Pension Board 1902-1917. The Pension Board handled the approval process and dispersion of pensions for the Confederate veterans of the Civil War. FHL Collection
- The Captain remembers: the papers of Captain Richard Irby. Historical sketch of the Nottaway Grays, afterwards Company G, Eighteenth Virginia Regiment, Army of Northern Virginia. FHL Collection
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War battle was fought in Nottoway County.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Medical register, 1917-1975. Contains copies of medical licenses for physical therapists, surgeons, dentists, optometrists, general practioners ("regular doctors"), and "allopathic" doctors. FHL Collection
- Register of physicians, surgeons and dentists, 1894-1950 FHL Collection
Officials[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
A free index to Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1789-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.
- SAMPUBCO free online index resource that serves as a good starting place to search for Nottoway County wills.
- Will records, 1789-1964; general indexes, 1865-1975 FHL Collection
- Accounts current records, 1867-1915; general index to fiduciary settlements, 1867-1915 FHL Collection
- Fiduciary order books, 1942-1972 FHL Collection
- Record of fiduciaries, 1901-1902 FHL Collection
- Bond and guarantee companies books, 1923-1974. A bond is a legal document wherein a person commits himself, his heirs, executors and administrators to pay a required amount of money to another if certain duties are not performed. These were paid by people elected or appointed to public offices or to act as guardians, executors or administrators of a person's estate. FHL Collection
- Bond books, 1852-1865, 1891-1917; general index to bond books, 1866-1917 FHL Collection
- Bond books, 1899-1914, 1972-1975 FHL Collection
- Images of Wills and Estates 1788-1802 Virginia Pioneers ($)
- Images of Wills and Estates 1803-1809 Virginia Pioneers ($)
Public Records[edit | edit source]
- Minute book for the Board of Blendon Township 1871-1875 and the Pension Board 1902-1917. FHL Collection
- Minute book for the Finance Board, 1932-1940 FHL Collection
Taxation[edit | edit source]
-  "Amelia Tithables, 1747," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 2004. Vol. 42 Iss. 4.
- [1782-1822] Heinegg, Paul. "Nottoway County Personal Property Tax List, 1789-1822," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in this source.
- [1791, 1801] Indexed images of the 1791 and 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Nottoway County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist. Falmouth VA: Oct 2002. Vol. 46 Iss. 4
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL Collection. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Nottoway County is included in Vol. 1.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records*The Farmville Herald: index to births, deaths and marriages. Contents: v. 1. 1893-1912, also includes 1873-1876 of The Farmville Mercury and The Farmville Commonwealth. FHL Collection
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1936-1988 - Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1865-1975 - Marriage register, 1865-1942; general indexes, 1866-1958, 1969-1975 FHL Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Account book, 1875-1877. This is the account book for Council no. 124, F. of T, which is a temperance society. FHL Collection
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Nottoway Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, documents.
- Nottoway County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Nottoway County VA Trails to the Past.
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Catalog
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nottaway County, Virginia. Page 718 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nottoway County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- WorldCat 50140092 FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
- Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 3, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Northumberland_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northumberland_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 254. Digital version at Google Books.
- Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
- Edwards states this church was situated in Amelia County. Were there two Baptist churches called Nottoway, or do they refer to the same congregation?
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 38-39. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 162. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
- James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
- Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).