To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Nottingham St Mary the Virgin, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nottingham St Mary the Virgin, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Nottingham St Mary the Virgin, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham St Mary the Virgin Nottinghamshire.jpg
Nottingham St Mary the Virgin Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nottingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Nottingham
Registration District Nottingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

The town comprises the parishes of St. Mary, St. Nicholas, and St. Peter. St. Paul's church, erected as a chapel of ease to the vicarage of St. Mary's, in 1822, is an ecclesiastical district that has been formed for it out of the parish. St. Ann's chapel, attached to a cemetery belonging to St. Mary's parish, is also used for divine service. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents,Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Sabellians, and Unitarians; a synagogue; and a Roman Catholic cathedral. This last edifice is dedicated to St. Barnabas.[1]

Additional information:

The oldest religious foundation in the City of Nottingham and the largest mediaeval building, St Mary the Virgin in the Lace Market is the Ancient Parish in the city and one of the three mediaeval parish churches.

The present church dates from the 15th Century and Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the church history St Mary the Virgin in the Lace Market

The church of St Marythe Virgin has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See Nottingham St Mary the Virgin Wikipedia which includes Anglican parishes in the city formed from within the Ancient Parish:

Nottingham St Paul, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham Holy Trinity, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham St John the Baptist, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham St Mark, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham St Matthew, Talbot Street, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham St Ann, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham St Luke, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham St Saviour's, Arkwright Street,Nottinghamshire

Nottingham All Saints Raleigh Street, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham Emmanuel Church, Woodborough Road, Nottinghamshire

NOTTINGHAM, a borough and market-town, forming a union and county of itself, locally in the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, of which it is the chief town.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Nottingham St Mary the Virgin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Nottingham St Mary the Virgin Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Nottinghamshire Census

All at Sea 1861 Census. This article is an Alpabetical listing of surname, given name, age, Condition, Occupation, Place of Birth, Name of Ship and Reference number, for people born in Nottinghamshire, and either on a ship in port or at sea. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 99, pages 1- 7, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n,

All at Sea 1881 Census, same as the above, pages 8-15, with notes on the Ships at the end of the article.

Court Records
[edit | edit source]

Peters, Doreen. Christmas Adjourned Quarter Sessions 1864. Extract from the Newark Advertiser 1864.

A list of the Grand Jury, where they lived and their employment, of the Christmas Adjourned Quarter Sessions for Nottinghamshire, 1863, and published in the Newark Advertiser March 1864. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine vol.119 page 60, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Electoral Rolls/Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Electoral/Voting Registers in Respect of Property Occupied within the Parish of Saint Mary 1853.  Article gives alphabetical listing of surname, given name place of abode, nature of qualification, street, lane or other like Places in the Parish and number of House, where the property situated and when the right of Voting depends on property. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 116, pages 1-36and subsequent 1-15, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Compiled by the late Keith Train. Pedigrees of Nottinghamshire Families.  Mr Train has extracted Pedigrees from a selection of different sources, the list is alphabetical, some dating from 1662, and has the source of where he extracted them from on page 53 and 54. Article is in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 119, pages 36-54. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Transcribed by Widdowson, Brian. The Nottinghamshire Volunteer Regiment 1914-1916.  Alphabetical listing of the Nottinghamshire Volunteer Regiment, through to 1919, noting their Rank, year and the Battalion and Company they were attached to. Article is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, Vol.121 page 48-61, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Nottingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Nottingham Union Workhouse.  Admissions and Discharges Register 1 November 1856 to 11 December 1858. A picture of the Workhouse, and an 1861 map of Nottingham, reproduced with permission of the Nottinghamshire County Council, and an Admission and Discharge Register, which gives the year, date, surname, forename and age, with an alphabetical listing at the end.  Article also includes an Index of Births as having occurred in the Workhouse, extracted from the Admissions Register, dated 1 November 1856-11 December 1858.  Article is to be found in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PUO 2/1/1 and also the transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.101, pages 1-92, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Extracts from a copy of the Will of Stephen Truman 1812.  Surnames of the folk named in the Will of Stephen Truman are Truman, Raynor, Harris, Bestall, Wilkinson, Gadsby, Smith, Stout and Tomlin.  Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 123, page 32, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

  • England Jurisdictions 1851
  • Vision of Britain
  • Plan of the Town of Nottingham, dated 1844. The map includes all the new Streets and every recent alteration, dated 1844. Map to be found inside the back cover of the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 83, part 7, Family History Library 942.52 D25n

Websites[edit | edit source]

Nottingham, St. Mary in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk