Nottingham St John the Baptist, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Nottingham St John the Baptist, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Nottingham St John the Baptist, Nottinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Nottingham|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
NOTTINGHAM, a borough and market-town, forming a union and county of itself, locally in the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, of which it is the chief town.
Nottingham, St. John the Baptist, is in the parish of St. Mary, it was consecrated in Nov. 1844. There are places of worship forBaptists, Independents, Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Sabellians, and Unitarians; a synagogue; and a Roman Catholic cathedral. This last edifice is dedicated to St. Barnabas.
Nottingham St John the Baptist was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1844 from Nottingham St Mary the Virgin, Nottinghamshire.
Nottingham St John the Baptist Wikipedia(destroyed by enemy action in May 1941)
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Nottingham St John the Baptist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
All at Sea 1861 Census. This article is an Alpabetical listing of surname, given name, age, Condition, Occupation, Place of Birth, Name of Ship and Reference number, for people born in Nottinghamshire, and either on a ship in port or at sea. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 99, pages 1- 7, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n,
All at Sea 1881 Census, same as the above, pages 8-15, with notes on the Ships at the end of the article.
Nottingham City Rentals.
[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Simpson, Elizabeth. Schedule of Tenants 1804, Nottingham. A list of tenants, given name, surname, premises occupied by them, and the rent to be paid. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 53, pages 55-59, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
- Plan of the Town of Nottingham, dated 1844. The map includes all the new Streets and every recent alteration, dated 1844. Map to be found inside the back cover of the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 83, part 7, Family History Library 942.52 D25n
Occupations[edit | edit source]
Hammond, Peter. Nottingham Police Force. An Extract from the Nottingham Review 11 December 1840 with a list of all the Police on duty, and what place. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.123, page43-45, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.