Norwich St Michael Coslany, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Norfolk
Norfolk Parishes
Norwich St Michael Coslany


Guide to Norwich St Michael Coslany, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Norwich St Michael Coslany, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History

St Michael Coslany is an Ancient Parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich. It is sometimes abbreviated to St Miles particularly in old documents.

The building is in the care of the Norwich Historic Churches Trust and houses the Norwich Discovery Centre, a science museum for schoolchildren and adult visitors.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Norwich St Michael Coslany, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
Norwich St Michael Coslany, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1902
1558-1963
1558-1861
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1903 Undefined 1558-1901 Undefined 1558-1861
IGI 1558-1875 1558-1812
TGEN 1558-1903 1558-1903 1897-1902 1897-1902 1558-1725, 1813-1849 1558-1725, 1813-1849

Images of the parish register for this parish are available on FamilySearch Historical Records but the registers were damaged by flooding and some parts of the registers are illegible.

Baptisms 1558-1903 are of particular interest for  some family baptisms for Harper and Peckover.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Mallett, B. Which Was His Father. History and Family tree of Nicholas Mallett and Susanna Salmon,at St. Gregory, Norwich 1748, and his 2nd marriage to Sara Field at Coslany in 1777.The surnames included on the tree are Sayer, Mason, Evans, Waters-Leaving, dated from 1748 - 1963. The 2nd Family tree chart is of Nicholas Mallett marrying 1607 to Joan Wesbye 1602, at St Peter Parmentergate, his 2nd marriage to Elizabeth Hatley at All Saints, Norwich, 1627, with the following surnames, Offord, Smith, Lusher, Bullock, Giles, Glover and Tills, dated from  1607-1717. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol. 4, pt. 2, page 45-46, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.4, pt 2.

Poor Law Union

Norwich Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church

Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp

References

  1. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  2. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 25 March 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  4. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.