Norwich St Margaret, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norfolk Parishes
Norwich St Margaret

Guide to Norwich St Margaret, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records
Norwich St Margaret, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History

Norwich St Margaret de Westwick is one of four mediaeval churches in close proximity on St Benedict Street. The church was closed in 1975, and the furnishings dispersed to other churches. Its current use is as an exhibition space, which enable the proportions to be appreciated.


Church Records

Norwich St Margaret, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Norwich St Margaret, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1695-1904
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1909 Undefined 1559-1914 Undefined 1559-1856

NTA 1695-1728
TGEN 1740-1794 1740-1794 1740-1904 1740-1904 1740-1865 1740-1865

Norfolk Record Office has separate deposited register series for each parish.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich


England Jurisdictions 1851



  1. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  2. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  4. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  5. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.