Norwich St Julian, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Norwich St Julian, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Norwich|
|Parish registers: 1589|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Norwich St Julian has an international reputation, as it was here that Dame Julian of Norwich lived in the later 14th century.
The building as it now stands dates almost entirely from 1953, when it was rebuilt after suffering a direct hit from a bomb in 1942. The church was also reconsecrated in 1953.It was re-established as a place of prayer by the Anglican Sister of All Hallows, Ditchingham.
There is good reason to believe that a church has stood here since Anglo-Saxon times, although whether the destroyed building was of Saxon date, or Saxon workmanship but post-1066, is difficult to decide.
St Julian is within the modern parish of St John the Baptist Timberhill.
Norwich St Julian, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Norwich St Julian, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of the parish register are available on FamilySearch Historical Records.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asphttp://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the former church prior to destruction
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.