Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Norwich|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Norwich St John the Baptist Timberhill is an Ancient parish in the city and Diocese of Norwich.
The church site was originally outside the Castle Bailey. The fourteenth century church lost its tower in a collapse in 1784 and was replaced first by a wooden bell frame and in 1877 by a stone turret.
The church fell into dilapidation until in the 1860's it was restored and internal resoration established a Victorian interior.
It was restored further by the Norwich Historic Churches Trust and serves again as a parish church with a congregation in the heart of the city and together with St Julian forms an inner city parish in modern Norwich.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration District[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Norwich St John Timberhill, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|Baptisms 1559-1900 Marriages 1559-1837 Burials 1559-1856 Banns 1754-1823
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1657263 Items 9-18
This parish has been incorrectly way pointed as Norwich St Timberhill due to a typographical error which awaits engineering correction in future. The historical records collection on Familysearch contains microfilm conversion from the 1992 filming of Parish registers, 1559-1900 Norwich Record Office reference PD74/ 1-10
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Norwich Historic Churches Trust http://www.norwich-churches.org/index.asp
http://www.georgeplunkett.co.uk for historic photographs of the church
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.