Norwegian Medical Terms

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Norwegian Genealogical
Word Lists
Norwegian Language.png
Word Lists
Handwriting Help
Associated Countries

This list contains medical terms commonly found in parish registers along with their English translation and, in some cases, a definition of the condition. The words in this list more closely resemble the Danish spelling than the modern Norwegian version. For a word list with a broader scope see Norwegian Genealogical Word List.

Term Translation Definition
alderdom old age
alderdomssvakhet weakness of old age
astma asthma Respiratory condition marked by spasms in the bronchi of the lungs, causing difficulty in breathing.
avdø die
avdød dead, deceased, departed, late
avdøde the deceased
avgaaet ved døden the person is dead
barnesykdom childhood disease
barselfeber childbed fever Puerperal sepsis due to streptococcal infection introduced into the vagina by a woman's birth attendants
blod blood
blodforgiftning septicemia or bloodpoisoning Caused when a bacterial infection elsewhere in the body, such as the lungs or skin, enters the bloodstream
blodgang dysentary Intestinal infection caused by a bacteria or amoeba resulting in bloody diarrhea
blodsott blood loss Abnormal loss of blood usually related to another illness such as dysentery
broktilfælde see brokk
brokk hernia Bulging of an organ or tissue through an abnormal opening
d. abbr. for "død"
d.kr. abbr. for "døde omkring"
d.s.s. abbr. for "det samme som"
d.s.å. abbr. for "død samme året"
d.å.e abbr. for "død året etter"
difteri diptheria Bacterial infection (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) of the throat
drepende fatal or mortal wound or injury
druknede, druknet drowned
dræbende fatal or mortal wound or injury
dum dumb (mute, unable to speak)
død dead
død samme året dead the same year
død året etter dead the following year, dead the next year
død av died by
døde died, deceased
døde etter died after
døde fær died before
døde omkring died about
dødfødt stillborn
dødsens mortally
dødsfall death, bereavement notification
dødsleiet deathbed
dødsår year of death
dødsårsak cause of death
døv deaf hearing impaired
døvstum deaf and dumb
epidemi epidemic
epilepsi epilepsy A disorder in which nerve cell activity in the brain is disturbed, causing seizures
fallesyke epilepsy A disorder in which nerve cell activity in the brain is disturbed, causing seizures
farsot pestilence, plague
feber fever
forblødning bled to death
forkjølet to have a cold; catch a cold
forråtnelsesfeber fever caused by putrefaction, typhoid fever
forurensning contamination, pollution
gallfeber jaundice Yellowing of the skin caused by a buildup of bilirubin in the blood
gikt rheumatism Inflammation and pain in the joints, muscles, or fibrous tissue
giktbrudden rheumatic, gouty Arthritic condition causing pain, tenderness, and redness in the joints caused by a buildup of uric acid
giktfeber rheumatic fever Inflammatory disease that can develop when strep throat or scarlet fever isn't properly treated
halsesyke throat infection (diptheria) Bacterial infection (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) of the throat
halshugget decapitated
hjerneblødning cerebral hemorrhage Bleeding between the skull and the tissues of the brain
hjerneslag stroke Interruption of reduction of blood supply to the brain
hjernesvulst brain tumor
hjerte heart
hjertefeil heart disease Generic term referring to several types of cardiac conditions
hjerteinfarkt heart attack, myocardial infarction Blockage of an artery supplying heart with blood and oxygen
hjertesvikt heart failure Condition causing the heart to inadequately pump blood
hjertesykdom heart disease Generic term referring to several types of cardiac conditions
hoste cough
ihjelslagen beaten to death
indebrændt died in a fire
infarkt infarction, see hjerteinfarkt Tissue death (necrosis) due to inadequate blood supply to the affected area
infeksjon infection
katarr catarrh Inflammation of the mucous membranes in the airways. May have been used as a description for what is now known as the common cold, nasopharyngitis, pharyngitis, rhinitis, or sinusitis.
kikhoste whooping cough Pertussis, a highly contagious respiratory tract infection
kirug surgeon
kirugi surgery
kirurgisk surgical
koldbrand gangrene Dead tissue caused by an infection or lack of blood flow
koldesyge malaria Mosquito-borne disease caused by a parasite
kolera cholera Acute diarrhoeal infection caused by ingestion of food or water contaminated with the bacterium Vibrio cholerae
kopper smallpox Contagious viral infection causing red spots which turn into blisters filled with fluid, then pus
koppeepidemien smallpox emidemic
kreft cancer A disease in which abnormal cells divide uncontrollably and destroy body tissue
krupp croup Laryngotracheobronchitis, an inflammation of the upper airway which obstructs breathing and causes a barking cough
krøpling crippled
lege doctor, physician
legehjelp physician's assistant
lik corpse
lunge lungs
lungebetendelse pneumonia or inflammation Bacterial, viral, or fungal infection of the lungs causing the air sacs (alveoli) to fill with fluid or pus
lungetuberkulose pulmonary tuberculosis Bacterial infection (Mycobacterium tuberculosis) of the lungs
lynildihjelslagen killed by lightning strike
løbing diarrhea Loose, watery stool which may be caused by a virus or contaminated food
mage stomach
magebetennelse gastritis Inflammation of the stomach lining
magekatarr gastric catarrh Inflammation of the stomach lining
magekrampe stomach cramp
magesyke diarrhea, stomach ailment Loose, watery stool which may be caused by a virus or contaminated food
magesyre stomach ulcer, gastric ulcer A peptic ulcer (sore) in the lining of the stomach allowing digestive acids to eat away the tissue
magesår stomach ulcer, gastric ulcer
meslinger measles Highly contagious infectious disease caused by the Measles morbillivirus virus
mord murder
nervefeber typhoid fever Bacterial infection (Salmonella typhi) spread through contact with contaminated food and water or close contact with an infected person
omkom died by accident
omkomme died, killed
selvmord suicide
sinnskrise nervous breakdown
sinnsvak insane, retarded
sinnsyk mentally ill, mad
sinnsykehus insane asylum
sinnssykasyl insane asylum
sinssyk lunatic
slå ihjel kill
smitsom contagious, infectious
spedalsk leper, leprous Leprosy (Hansen's disease), a long-term bacterial infection transmitted by bodily fluids
stivkrampe tetanus Potentially fatal bacterial infection (Clostridium tetani) affecting the nerves, causing painful muscle contractions
strupehoste croup Laryngotracheobronchitis, an inflammation of the upper airway which obstructs breathing and causes a barking cough
stum mute Inability to speak
sukkersyke diabetes Metabolic disorder characterized by prolonged high levels of blood sugar (hyperglycemia)
svak weak
svulst tumor
syfilis syphilis Sexually transmitted bacterial infection
syk sick
sykdom disease, illnes
tann tooth
tannlege dentist
tarm bowel, gut, intestine
tarmslyng volvulus Intestinal twisting resulting in a bowel obstruction
Trondhjemske halsesyge diptheria Bacterial infection (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) of the throat
udyktig incapable
ufør crippled
ulykke accident
vaksinasjon vaccination, inoculation
vaksinasjonsattest certificate of vaccination, vaccination certificate
vaksinasjonsprotokoll vaccination register
vaksinert vaccinated
vanfør crippled, disabled
vanskapt deformed, handicapped
vansott dropsy Edema, a buildup of fluid in the tissues
vanvare accidentally
vanvittig insane, mad, deranged, foolish