Norway Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Norway Wiki Topics
Flag of Norway.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Norway Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Norway is SteuartRC

Archives collect and preserve original documents of organizations such as churches or governments. Libraries generally collect published sources such as books, maps, and microfilm. This section describes the major repositories of genealogical and historical records and sources for Norway.

If you plan to visit one of these repositories, contact the organization and ask for information about their collection, hours, services, and fees. When writing to an archive in Norway, you may write in English.

Although the records you need may be in an archive or library in Norway, the Family History Library and the Norwegian American Genealogical Center (NAGC) (see the "Societies" section) may have a microfilm copy of them. The Family History Library has copies of many records from Norwegian archives and libraries.

In Norway there are several major types of genealogical repositories:

  • National archives
  • Regional archives
  • Church parish offices
  • Public libraries


National Archives[edit | edit source]

The Norwegian government collects records relating to Norwegian history, culture, and people. Records of genealogical value at the national archives include census records, military records, and emigration lists. The National Archives of Norway is open to the public. You may purchase microfilms or request photocopies of the records by using forms obtained from the archives.

Riksarkivet (National Archive)
Sognveien 221, Kringsjå, Oslo
Write to: Postboks 4013, Ullevål stadion, 0806 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: 47 22 02 26 00
Fax: 47 22 23 74 89
E-mail: riksarkivet@arkivverket.no
Website: National Archives of Norway
Website #2: Find Your Ancestors
Website #3: Digital Archives

Digitalarkivet (The Digital Archives)[edit | edit source]

The Digital Archives is a public service from the National Archives of Norway. Original, indexed, and transcribed records can be searched for free.

Regional/Municipal Archives[edit | edit source]

In Norway there are eight regional archives and one Sami Archive. They serve as repositories for records of their particular areas. Records of genealogical value at regional archives include birth, marriage, and death records (church records); land records; and court records. The regional archives of Norway are open to the public. The regional archives may also have records on microfilm for areas that are not under their jurisdiction. The archives also have much of the printed genealogical material such as farm books (bygdebøker) that pertains to the area they cover. Check what hours they are open before you visit. Hours of operation are usually shorter during the summer.

The regional archives for the various counties [fylker] are listed below.

For Østfold, Akershus, and Oslo counties (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Oslo (State Archive in Oslo)
Sognveien 221, Kringsjå, Oslo
Write to: Postboks 4015 Ullevål stadion
0806 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: 47 22 02 26 00
Fax: 47 22 23 74 89
E-mail: saoslo@arkivverket.no
Website: The National Archives and the State Archives in Oslo

IKA Østfold Interkommunale Arkivselskap, Sarpsborg
Write to: Postboks 237
1702 Sarpsorg, Norway
Telephone: +47 69 11 63 05
E-mail: ika.ostfold@sarpsborg.com
Website: IKA Østfold

Byarkivet i Frederikstad (City Archive in Frederikstad)
Nygaardsgata 42-44, 1606 Fredrikstad
Telephone: +47 69 30 61 64
E-mail: postmottak@fredrikstad.kommune.no
E-mail #2: servicetorget@fredrikstad.kommune.no
Website: Frederikstad Kommune

For Buskerud, Vestfold, and Telemark Counties (Fylker)
Byarkivet i Drammen (City Archive in Drammen)
Engene 1, 3015 Drammen
Telephone: +47 32 04 62 85
E-mail: kommunepost@drmk.no
Website: Welcome to the municipality of Drammen

Statsarkivet i Kongsberg (State Archive in Kongsberg)
Frogsvei 48, 3611 Kongsberg
Telephone: +47 32 04 62 85
E-mail: postmottak@ikakongsberg.no
Website: IKA Kongsberg

Click on Union Jack for English.

Vestfoldarkivet (Vestfold Archives)
Hinderveien 10, 3223 Sandefjord
Telephone: +47 970 67 296
E-mail: vestfoldarkivet@vestfoldmuseene.no
Website: Vestfold Arkivet (Norwegian)

For Oppland and Hedemark counties (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Hamar (State Archive in Hamar)
Lille Strandgate 3, 2317 Hamar
Write to: Postboks 533
2304 Hamar, Norway
Telephone: 47 65 55 54 40
Fax: 47 62 52 94 48
E-mail: sahamar@arkivverket.no
Website: State Archives in Hamar

Fylkesarkivet i Oppland (County Archive in Oppland)
Fakkelgården, Vormstugguvegen 40, 2624 Lillehammer
Telephone: +47 61 27 18 00
E-mail: fylkesarkivet@oppland.org
Website: County Archive in Oppland

For Aust-Agder and Vest-Agder counties (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Kristiansand
Märthas vei 1, 4633 Kristiansand
Telephone: +47 38 14 55 00
E-mail: sakristiansand@arkivverket.no
Website: State Archives in Kristiansand

Interkommunalt Arkiv i Vest-Agder i Kristiansand (Inter-municipal Archive in Vest-Agder in Kristiansand)
Marthas vei 1, 4633 Kristiansand
Telephone: +47 38 14 55 91
Website: Interkommunalt Arkiv i Vest-Agder i Kristiansand (Norwegian)

Kuben, Aust-Agder Museum og Arkiv (Kuben, Aust-Agder Museum and Archive)
Parkveien 16B, 4838 Arendal
Telephone: +47 37 01 79 00
E-mail: postmottak@aaks.no
Website: Kuben, Aust-Agder Museum and Archive

For Rogaland County (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Stavanger (State Archive in Stavanger)
Bergelandsgate 30, 4012 Stavanger
Telephone: +47 51 50 12 60
E-mail: sastavanger@arkivverket.no
Website: State Archives in Stavanger

Stavanger Byarkiv (Stavanger City Archive)
Lars Hertervigs Gate 2, 4005 Stavanger
Telephone: +47 51 50 71 58
E-mail: byarkivet@stavanger.kommune.no
Website: Stavanger City Archives

IKA Interkommunalt Arkiv i Rogaland (Inter-municipal Archive in Rogaland)
Bergelandsgata 30. 4012, Stavanger
Telephone: +47 51 50 12 83
E-mail: epost@ikarogaland.no
Website: Interkommunalt Arkiv i Rogaland (Norwegian)

For Hordaland, Bergen, and Sogn og Fjordane counties (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Bergen (State Archive in Bergen)
Årstadveien 22, 5009 Bergen
Telephone: 47 55 96 58 00
Fax: 47 55 96 58 01
E-mail: sabergen@arkivverket.no
Website: The State Archives in Bergen

Fylkesarkivet i Sogn & Fjordane (County Archive in Sogn & Fjordane)
Askedalen 2, 6863 Leikanger
Telephone: +47 57 63 80 00
E-mail: postmottak.sffarkiv@sfj.no
Website: Fylkesarkivet i Vestland

Hordaland Fylkeskommune arkiv (County Municipal Archive in Hordaland)
Agnes Mowinckels gate 5, 5008 Bergen
Telephone: +47 55 23 90 00
Website: Archives and Documentation

IKA Interkommunalt arkiv i Hordaland (Inter-municipal archive in Hordaland)
Kalfarveien 82, 5022 Bergen
Telephone: +47 55 30 60 90
E-mail: post@ikah.no
Website: Interkommunalt arkiv i Hordaland (Norwegian)

Bergen Byarkiv (Bergen City Archive)
Kalfarveien 82, 5022 Bergen
Telephone: +47 55 56 62 83
E-mail: post.byarkivet@bergen.kommune.no
Website: Bergen City Archive

For Møre og Romsdal, Sør-Trøndelag, Nord-Trøndelag, and Nordland counties (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Trondheim (State Archive in Trondheim)
Maskinistgata 1, 7042 Trondheim
Telephone: +47 72 54 82 80
E-mail: trondheim-byarkiv.postmottak@trondheim.kommune.no
Website: Trondheim City Archives

IKA Trøndelag (Inter-municipal Archive in Trøndelag)
Båtsmannsgata 4, 7042 Trondheim
Telephone: +47 970 99 050
E-mail: postmottak@ika-trondelag.no
Website: IKA Trøndelag (Norwegian)

Arkiv i Nordland (Archive in Nordland)
Kudalsveien 6, 8026 Bodø
Telephone: +47 994 09 500
E-mail: post@nfk.no
Website: Arkiv i Nordland

IKA Møre & Romsdal Arkiv (Inter-municipal Archive Møre & Romsdal)
Kirkegata 10, 6004 Ålesund
Telephone: +47 70 16 51 80
E-mail: postmottak@ikamr.no
Website: IKA Møre & Romsdal Arkiv (Norwegian)

For Troms and Finnmark counties (Fylker)
Statsarkivet i Tromsø (State Archive in Tromsø)
Huginbakken 18, 9019 Tromsø
Write to: Pb 6315, 9293 Tromsø, Norway
Telephone: 47 77 64 72 00
Fax: 47 77 64 72 01
E-mail: satromso@arkivverket.no
Website: State Archives in Tromsø

Tromsø byarkiv (Tromsø City Archive)
Grønneegata 94, 9008 Tromsø
Telephone: +47 77 79 09 00
E-mail: byarkivet@tromso.kommune.no
Website: City Archives
Website #2: Tromsø City Library and Archive, Norway

IKA Interkommunalt Arkiv Troms
Huginbakken 18, 9019 Tromsø
Telephone: +47 414 80 935
E-mail: postmottak@ikatroms.no
Website: Interkommunalt Arkiv Troms (Norwegian)

Samisk Arkiv /Sámi Arkiiva (The Sámi Archives)
Hánnoluohkká 45, Guovdageaidnu/Kautokeino
Write to: Diehtosiida, 9520 Kautokeino, Norway
Telephone: +47 78 44 85 60
E-mail: samisk.arkiv@arkivverket.no
Website: Sami archive

Websites[edit | edit source]

Website: Norway GenWeb and
Website: Archives Portal Europe provide access to information on archival material from Norway as well as information on archival institutions throughout the European continent.

Archives in the United States[edit | edit source]

Website: The Memorial Library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison has one of the largest collections of Norwegian local histories in the United States, and these histories contain much genealogical information. Dennis Auburn Hill has published a bibliography of their holdings:

Norwegian Local History: A Bibliography of the Material in the Collections of the Memorial Library (Jefferson, NC, USA: McFarland, 1989; FHL book 977.583/M1 A3hi;

Other libraries that have large collections of Norwegian local histories include:
Website: Chester Fritz Library, University of North Dakota—Grand Forks
Website: Mikkelsen Library, Augustana University, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Website: Rølvaag Memorial Library, St. Olaf College, Northfield, Minnesota
Website: Preus Library, Luther College, Decorah, Iowa
Website: Carl B. Ylvisaker Library, Concordia College, Moorhead, Minnesota

The archives of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) have microfilm copies of most of the Norwegian-American Lutheran church records. The copies can be loaned via the mail for a nominal fee. The ELCA is divided into nine regions. The regional archives may have additional information. Go to Evangelical Lutheran Church in America for more information.

The ELCA Archives is located at:
321 Bonnie Lane
Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Telephone: (847) 690-9410
E-mail: archives@elca.org
Website: Archives

Other records of Norwegians in America are kept by the United States National Archives and Records Administration. These include service and pension, naturalization, immigration, homestead records, and others created by the federal government. For information, write to:

The National Archives of the United States
Washington, D.C. 20408
Website: National Archives of the United States

You should also look for records created by the state and county where an individual lived.

A list of online sites that include information about archives, censuses, church records, probate records, and military records are found in various Norway Wiki articles.

Church Parish Offices[edit | edit source]

Church records containing an entry dated less than 80 years ago are kept at the local parish office. All others are sent to the state archives for the area. It is possible to write to local parishes in English. See the "Norway Church Records" section for more information.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Some of the sources you will want to use are also available in major libraries in Norway and in the United States. Contact these libraries and ask about their collection, hours, and services. The Nasjonalbiblioteket is the largest library in Norway and its function is similar to that of The Library of Congress. By law they are to receive a copy of everything that is published in all media formats in Norway.

Nasjonalbiblioteket (National Library)
Henrik Ibsens gate 110
0255, Oslo
Write to: Nasjonalbiblioteket, Postboks 2674
Solli N-0203, Oslo, Norway
Telephone: 47 81 00 13 00
Fax: 47 23 27 60 50
E-mail: nb@nb.no
Website: http://www.nb.no (Norwegian)

National Library of Norway, Oslo Division. The main public libraries in Oslo and Bergen have large collections, and the collections of family histories, local histories, and biographical works are extensive.

Bergen Offentlige Bibliotek (Bergen Public Library)
Strømgaten 6
5015 Bergen
Telephone: 47 55 56 85 60
Fax: 47 55 56 85 70
E-mail: fido@bergen.folkebibl.no
Website: Bergen Public Library

Deichmanske Bibliotek (Deichman Library)
Arne Garborgs plass 4
N-0179 Oslo
Write to: Deichmanske Bibliotek
Postboks 1453, Vika Oslo, Norway
Telephone: 47 23 43 29 00
Fax; 47 22 11 33 89
E-mail: deichman@deichman.no
Website: http://www.deichmanske-bibliotek.oslo.kommune.no

Det Norske Utvandrersenteret (The Norwegian Emigration Center)
Strandkaia 31
N-4005 Stavanger
Telephone: 47 51 53 88 60
Fax: 47 51 53 88 63
E-mail: Detnu@telepost.no
Website: Norwegian Emigration Center

The Norwegian Emigration Center in Stavanger, Norway, is a foundation supported by the county or Rogaland, the city of Stavanger, and the community of Tysvær. The center has a copy of most of the published material about Norwegian families as well as an almost complete collection of Norwegian church, census, and emigration records. The Center also has passenger lists from the Norwegian American Line and one of the largest collections of farm books (bygdebøker). They answer questions and do research for a nominal fee. Office hours: M-F 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Hammerfest Library
Sjøgata 4, 9600 Hammerfest
Telephone: 47 78 40 20 50
E-mail: biblioteket@hammerfest.kommune.no
Website: Hammerfest bibliotek (Norwegian)
Website #2: Hammerfest bibliotek

Norsk Lokalhistorisk Institutt (Norwegian Local History Institute)
Observatoriegate1b
0254 Oslo
Write to: Postboks 8045
Dep., 0031, Oslo, Norway
Telephone: 47 22 92 51 50
E-mail: bibliotek@stormen.no
Website: Norsk Lokalhistorisk Institutt (Norwegian)

Sølvberget, Stavanger Library and Culture (Silver Mountain Library and Cultural Center)
Sølvberggata 2, 4002 Stavanger
Write to: Postboks 310
4002 Stavanger, Norway
Telephone: 47 51 50 74 65
E-mail: post@solvberget.no
Website: Sølvberget Bibliotek og Kulturhus

Stormen Library
Storgata 1A, 8006 Bodø
Write to: Postboks 289
8001 Bodø, Norway
Telephone: 47 75 55 61 00/90 96 54 56
E-mail: nli@lokalhistorie.no
Website: Stormen Library

Tønsberg and Nøtterøy Public Library
Storgaten 16, 3126 Tonsberg
Write to: Postboks 2131
3103 Tonsberg, Norway
Telephone: 47 33 35 49 00
E-mail: tbg@tnb.no
Website: Public Library of Tonsberg and Notteroy, Norway

University of Bergen Library
Haakon Sheteligs plass 7, 5007 Bergen
Write to: University of Bergen PO Box 7808
N-5020, Bergen, Norway
Telephone: 47 55 58 25 16
E-mail: post@ub.uib.no
Website: University Library

Vennesla Library and Culture House
Venneslamoen 19, Vennesla
Write to: Postboks 70
4702 Vennesla, Norway
Telephone: 47 38 13 73 00
E-mail: bibliotek@vennesla.kommune.no
Website: Vennesla Library and Culture House

Voss Library
Evangervegen 6
5704 Voss
Telephone: 47 56 51 94 90
E-mail: voss@voss.folkebibl.no
Website: Om Voss bibliotek (Norwegian)

There are several libraries in Norway that have genealogical information that may be searched on the Internet at:

Website: Bibliofil

Arkivnett Norge (Norway Archives) is another useful site:
Website: City Archives

Museums[edit | edit source]

Norsk Utvandrermuseum (Norwegian Emigration Center)
Åkershagan, 3212 Otterstad
Telephone: 47 62 57 48 50
Fax: 47 62 57 48 51
E-mail: admin@emigrantmuseum.no
Website: Emigrant Museum (Norwegian)

There is an emigration museum with an archive located in Otterstad with an extensive collection about Norwegians in America. They have more than 7,000 emigrant letters, microfilm of about 2,000 Norwegian Lutheran Churches in America from around 1840-1900, and a collection of about 9,000 photographs. Office hours 9:00-5:00 T-F by appointment only.

Norwegian Museum of Cultural History
Museumsveien 10, Bygdøy
0287 Oslo
Telephone: 47 22 12 37 00
E-mail: post@norskfolkemuseum.no
Website: Norwegian Folk Museum
Website #2: Norsk Folkemuseum – Norwegian Museum of Cultural History
Website #3: Norwegian Museum of Cultural History

The Norwegian Folk Museum at Bygdøy in Oslo has an open-air museum with 160 buildings, including Gol Stave Church and OBOS Farm Wessels gate 15. Exhibitions show, among other things. folk costume, folk art, Sami culture and church art. The museum conducts research and knowledge production, and offers programs for children and families.

University Museum of Bergen
Haakon Sheteligs plass 10
5007 Bergen
Telephone: 47 55 58 00 00/55 58 31 40
E-mail: publikum@um.uib.no
Website: University Museum of Bergen

The University Museum has some of the largest collections within cultural and natural history in Norway.