Northbourne, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Kent
Kent Parishes
Northbourne

Guide to Northbourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Northbourne, Kent
Northbourne St Augustine Kent.jpg
Northbourne St Augustine Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

= Parish History

Northbourne is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Northbourne Wikipedia

Although Northbourne St Augustine is an Ancient Parish church dating from 1120 the history of the church site is much older, one of the earliest sites of Christian worship in England.  St. Augustine landed at Ebbsfleet, some 5 miles away, in AD597. In 6l8 Eadbald, newly crowned King of Kent, gave land at Northbourne (thirty ploughs worth) to St. Augustine's Abbey in Canterbury.

Records show that a church was built at this time, this was superseded by a further and larger Anglo Saxon church built on the same site. Almost certainly some of the fragments of masonry of these earlier churches, including "Barley Twist" mouldings can be seen built into the wall of the present church, built about AD 1120.

The church is designated Grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

The modern parish is Northbourne with Betteshanger with Ham and includes the redundant Betteshanger church which is now a chapel to Northbourne Park School, a private preparatory school. A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you Finglesham is part of the parish along with Northbourne and Betteshanger Circle, the former mining community.

The church of St Mary which was bult in 1853-1854 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Northbourne was until the closure of the mines of the Kent coalfield a mining community parish.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 583-604. Date accesed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Northbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Northbourne Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax

Images for Northbourne available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.




Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

NORTHBOURNE (St. Augustine), a parish, in the union of Eastry, partly in the hundred of Eastry, but chiefly in the hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (W.) from Deal. [2]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 423-433. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.