To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Northborough, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Northborough, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Northborough, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Peterborough
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1712
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Peterborough
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NORTHBOROUGH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and soke of Peterborough, N. division of the county of Northampton, 1¾ mile (S. E. by S.) from Market-Deeping. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Northborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
NORTHBOROUGH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1873 1813-1873 1813-1873 1813-1873
BOYD
1651-1725, 1776-1837

FREG 1677-1812 1538-1812 1671-1812
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. DADte accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.