Northamptonshire Societies

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Northamptonshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Northamptonshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Northamptonshire Background
Local Research Resources
England
Northamptonshire
Societies

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources, or support its efforts.

Addresses of the societies are for the most part where their meetings are held as they are by-and-large not brick-and-mortar institutions.

Regional Societies

CBA South Midlands Group
Email: dp.ingham@albion-arch.com
Website: CBA South Midlands Group

The CBA South Midlands group, an autonomous local group under the umbrella of the national Council for British Archaeology. CBA South Midlands covers four counties – Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire and Oxfordshire. They are an educational charity working to involve people in archaeology and to promote the appreciation and care of the historic environment for the benefit of the present and future generations.

Lincoln Record Society
Robert Hardy Building
Bishop Grosseteste University College
Longdales Road
Lincoln, Lincolnshire LN1 3DY UK
Email: communications@lincoln-record-society.org.uk
Website: Lincoln Record Society

The Society was founded in 1910 to print records and documents relating to the ancient county and diocese of Lincoln. The ancient diocese covered not only Lincolnshire, the second largest county of England, but also the wide area which lay within the medieval diocese: the counties of Lincoln, Leicester, Northampton, Rutland, Oxford, Bedford, Buckingham, Huntingdon and northern Hertford. Since 1910 the Society has published ninety nine volumes many of which are still in print.

Milton Keynes Heritage Association
Website: Milton Keynes Heritage Association

Milton Keynes Heritage Association formed in 1994 by a number of local heritage groups and museums, with the aim of encouraging and developing co-operation between organisations having an interest in heritage in Milton Keynes, North Buckinghamshire, and South Northamptonshire. It also has a central role in promoting heritage, by working closely with Councils and other agencies. MKHA has around 60 member organisations, with a broad range of interests and a wide geographical coverage from Buckingham in the west, Olney in the east, Towcester in the north, and Woburn Sands in the south.

Peterborough & District Family History Society
Salvation Army Citadel
1203 Bourges Blvd.
Peterborough, Northamptonshire PE1 2AU UK
Telephone: 01733 203151
Email: membership@peterborofhs.org.uk
Website: Peterborough & District Family History Society

The Peterborough and District Family History Society has now been established for a third of a century. During that time we have successfully raised the profile of family history within the local area, transcribing and indexing many thousands of records and assisting hundreds of people with their research.

Northamptonshire Societies

Brixworth History Society
Brixworth Village Hall
Holcot Road
Brixworth
Northampton, Northamptonshire NN6 9BS UK
Email: marian.coleman211@gmail.com
Website: Brixworth History Society

Brixworth is set in the rural county of Northamptonshire and has a rich historical heritage.

Cogenhoe and Whiston Heritage Society
7 Glebe Road
Cogenhoe
Northampton, Northamptonshire NN71NR UK
Email: enquiries@cogenhoeheritage.org.uk
Website: Cogenhoe and Whiston Heritage Society

Cogenhoe & Whiston Heritage Society was founded in the year 2000 - we are now in our 15th year. During that time, our mandate has not wavered - to study record and stimulate interest in the heritage of our two villages and their surrounding areas.

Deanshanger Village Heritage Society
Deanshanger Community Centre
Deanshanger, Northamptonshire MK19 6HT UK
Telephone: 01908 564725
Website: Deanshanger Village Heritage Society

The Deanshanger Village Heritage Society has been formed for anyone who is interested in caring for the past, present and future of the village of Deanshanger in Northamptonshire.

Dick Herne Braunston History Society
Braunston Village Hall
The Green/Welton Road
Braunston
Daventry, Northamptonshire NN11 7HW UK
Telephone: 01788 901 179
Website: Dick Herne Braunston History Society

Eydon Historical Research Group
Royal Oak
6 Lime Avenue
Eydon
Daventry, Northamptonshire NN11 3PG UK
Email: web.enquiry@eydonhistoricalresearchgroup.org
Website: Eydon Historical Research Group

Aim is to actively research the history of Eydon and its inhabitants and to publish our findings.

Finedon Local History Society
The Friends’ Meeting House
High Street
Finedon
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire NN9 5JN UK
Website: Finedon Local History Society

Finedon’s History Society is a group of dedicated local historians whose aim is to record the rich history of Finedon and to keep the town’s past alive.

Gretton Local History Society
Gretton Village Hall
61 Kirby Road
Gretton
Corby, Northamptonshire NN17 3DB UK
Telehone: 01536 771102
Email: anncraske@btinternet.com
Website: Gretton Local History Society

The Gretton Local History Society was formed in 1989, and has gradually accumulated a substantial archive of memories, documents and photographs, some of which were used to mount an exhibition in 1994. We are always pleased to receive anything which is of local interest, memories, photographs, or documents, all of which add to the portrait of Gretton in the past.

Irchester Parish Historical Society
Irchester Library
33-35 High Street
Irchester
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire NN29 7AA UK
Telephone: 01933 382476
Mobile: 07890 797702
Email: jpcarr01@hotmail.com
Website: Irchester Parish Historical Society

The Aims of the Society are the promotion and awareness of local history to stimulate public interest, to support both children and adults in the study of our local history, and to maintain and expand the collection of artefacts connected with the Parish of Irchester.

Middle Nene Archaeological Group
Glapthorn Village Hall
Main Street
Peterborough, Northamptonshire PE8 5BE UK
Telephone: 01733 241206
Email: contact@midnag.org.uk
Website: Middle Nene Archaeological Group

Northamptonshire Archaeological Society
Humfrey Rooms of Northamptonshire Natural History Society
10 Castillain Terrace
Northampton, Northamptonshire NN1 1LD UK
Email: nas196674@gmail.com
Website: Northamptonshire Archaeological Society (NAS)

The Northamptonshire Archaeological Society (NAS) was formed in 1974 to promote the study and appreciation of the Archaeology and History of the county.

Northamptonshire Family History Society
Kettering
Corn Market Hall
42 London Rd
Kettering, Northumberland NN15 7QA UK
Email: info4kettering@northants-fhs.org
Northampton
Weston Favell Parish Hall
Booth Ln S
Northampton, Northumberland NN3 3NS UK
Telephone: 07758 208450
Email: secretary@northants-fhs.org
Oundle
Fletton House
Fletton Way
Glapthorpe Road
Oundle, Northumberland PE8 4JA UK
Telephone: 01832 270061
Email: oundleinfo@northants-fhs.org
Rushden
Hall of South End Infants School
Wymington Road
Rushden, Northumberland NN10 9JU UK
Telephone: 01933 314831
Email: rushdeninfo@northants-fhs.org
Website: Northamptonshire Family History Society

The main aims of the Society are to advance the study of genealogy and family history with special emphasis on the County of Northamptonshire; to assist members in their research by suggesting methods of obtaining information, producing journals and by arranging meetings and lectures; to transcribe and index original documents, monumental inscriptions and other material; and to collaborate with organisations and bodies who have custody of records.

Northamptonshire Industrial Archaeology Group
Email: secretary@niag.org.uk
Website: Northamptonshire Industrial Archaeology Group

NIAG was formed with the aims to co-ordinate the study of industrial heritage in Northamptonshire; to encourage and assist with the promotion of industrial heritage in the county, including the production of occasional publications; and to provide through meetings and other activities a means of exchanging ideas, information and views of persons interested in industrial archaeology and its heritage in Northamptonshire.

Peterborough Local History Society
St Marks Hall
82 Lincoln Rd
Boroughbury
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire PE1 2SN UK
Website: Peterborough Local History Society

Peterborough Local History Society was formed in 1991 by a group of individuals who believed that the city needed an association where people could come together to share and enjoy the history of this area.

Roade Local History Society
St Mary’s Church Hall
Hartwell Rd
Roade
Northampton, Northamptonshire NN7 2NT UK
Telephone: 01604 864498/01604 862369
Email: information@roadehistorysociety.org.uk
Website: Roade Local History Society

Rushden and District History Society
South End Junior School
Wymington Rd
Rushden, Northamptonshire NN10 9JU UK
Email: project@rushdenheritage.co.uk
Website: Rushden and District History Society

Spratton Local History Society
Spratton Village Hall
39a Brixworth Road
Spratton
Northampton, Northamptonshire NN6 8HH UK
Email: information@sprattonhistory.org
Website: Spratton Local History Society

Spratton Local History Society was founded in 1999 with the aim of bringing together people with an interest in the history of Spratton, Northamptonshire and the surrounding area.

Towcester & District Local History Society
Riverside Centre
Islington Road
Towcester, Northamptonshire NN12 6AU UK
Telephone: 01327 351782
Email: tdlhs@mkheritage.co.uk
Website: Towcester & District Local History Society

The aims of the Society are to find out about the history of Towcester and to publicise what has been discovered.

Upper Nene Archaeological Society
Piddington Villa Museum
Chapel End
Piddington, Northamptonshire NN7 2DD UK
Telephone: 01604 870312
Email: Piddington.museum@tiscali.co.uk
Website: Upper Nene Archaeological Society

The objects of the Society shall be the discovery, identification, investigation and recording of archaeological sites, and the preservation, where practicable, of items of archaeological or historical interest, and to promote the study of archaeology by any other means.

West Haddon Local History Group
Email: wjraybould@gmail.com
Website: West Haddon Local History Group

Members of West Haddon Local History Group have been gathering information about the history of the village since the early 1980s and we’re still trying to fit pieces together, like a jigsaw, to build up pictures of life here in the past. This site will present what we have found, not only from documents, such as Census returns, parish registers, wills and property deeds, but also from material evidence, such as buildings and gravestones, and from the memories of villagers who have been kind enough, over the years, to share with us what they remembered.

Wollaston Heritage Society
Telephone: 01933 664249
Email: wollastonmuseum@yahoo.co.uk
Website: Wollaston Heritage Society

The Society exists to preserve what is known of the village's past through documents, photographs, archaeological finds, and artefacts from local industry and family life. The main activities are the operating and maintenance of Wollaston Museum, regular fund-raising events, educational, and social events.

Yardley Gobion Local History Group
Yardley Gobion Village Hall
Chestnut Rd
Yardley Gobion
Towcester, Northamptonshire NN12 7TW UK
Email: babskingyg@talktalk.net
Website: Yardley Gobion Local History Group