Northallerton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Northallerton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Northallerton|
|Registration District||Northallerton; Stockton|
|Parish registers: 1592|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter in Allerton and Allertonshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Northallerton All Saints is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Deighton, Yorkshire is a chapelry of Northallerton. Other places in the parish include: Romanby and Bank Head.
The market town and civil parish of Northallerton's history as the site of a Priory and development of the civil parishes of Romanby (near Northallerton),Yorkshire Brompton (near Northallerton), Yorkshire Deighton, Yorkshire High Worsall, Yorkshire are described at Northallerton Wikipedia
The parish church of All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The Congregational chapel dating from 1819 and now known as the Zion United Reformed Church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
NORTHALLERTON (All Saints), a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake and liberty of Allertonshire, N. riding of York; comprising the chapelries of Brompton, Deighton,and High Worsall, and the townships of Romanby and Northallerton; and containing 5273 inhabitants, of whom 3092 are in the town, 32 miles (N. W. by N.) from York,and 224 (N. N. W.) from London. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Records from the Northallerton registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Northallerton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Northallerton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 423-433. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.