North Otterington with Thornton le Moor and Thornton le Beans, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to North Otterington with Thornton le Moor and Thornton le Beans, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|North Otterington with Thornton le Moor and Thornton le Beans, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Northallerton|
|Registration District||Northallerton; Thirsk|
|Parish registers: 1589|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Probate Court||Pre-1836 - Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Durham and the Dean and Chapter of Allerton and Allertonshire; Post-1835 - Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
North Otterington with Thornton le Moor and Thornton le Beans is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Crosby Cote, Thornton le Moor, and Thornton le Beans.
OTTERINGTON, NORTH (St. Michael), a parish, in the unions of Northallerton and Thirsk, partly in the wapentake of Allertonshire, and partly in that of Birdforth, N. riding of York, 3½ miles (S.) from Northallerton; containing, with the townships of Thornton-le-Beans and Thornton-le-Moor, 688 inhabitants, of whom 79 are in the township of North Otterington. There is a chapel of ease at Thornton-le-Moor. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of North Otterington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NORTH OTTERINGTON PARISH (1813) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of **Parish** to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ***Parish*** page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Deposited Parish registers at North Yorkshire Record Office Bap 1598-1909 Marr 1598-1986 Bur 1598-1879
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661, 1662, 1669, 1673, 1697, 1711, 1718, 1721, 1725, 1759, 1760-1812, (all at Durham University Library, Archives and Special Collections Service). The following are at Borthwick Institute of Historical Research: 1813-1839, 1844-1856
Bishop's Transcripts references see Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 491-495. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.