North Newton, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from North Newton, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
North Newton


Guide to North Newton, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Newton, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Petherton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1778
Bishop's Transcripts: 1640
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgwater
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

NEWTON, NORTH, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of North Petherton, union of Bridgwater, W. division of Somerset.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Newton St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NORTH NEWTON ST PETER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1761-1809 1761-1809 1761-1809 1761-1809
FREG 1778-1805, 1815-1900

1763-1807, 1813-1900
NBI

1761-1901

North Newton St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NORTH NEWTON ST MICHAEL Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1696-1807


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/NorthNewton/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-413. Date accessed and adapted: 07 March 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.