North Dakota Directories

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
North Dakota Wiki Topics
North Dakota flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
North Dakota Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Resoures[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Directories are alphabetical lists of names and addresses. City directories can help you learn where an ancestor lived. The person’s occupation is frequently given. Often the home address and business address are both mentioned. When a husband dies, many times the widow is listed as "widow of...."

Directories can help you determine which jurisdictional ward the family lived in if you are searching census records for a particular time period in a big city. Directories sometimes have maps and addresses of churches, cemeteries, courthouses, and other important locations.

Resources for North Dakota Directories[edit | edit source]

Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]

Regional business directories that include present-day North Dakota:

Northwestern Gazetteer: Minnesota, North and South Dakota and Montana Gazetteer and Business Directory. St. Paul, Minnesota: Polk, 1914 (Family History Library Films 1321220-1321221).

The Leading Business Men of Dakota Cities: Accompanying the Map of Dakota Territory, Name and Address. Minneapolis, Minnesota: Warner & Foote, 1883 (Family History Library Film 1464014 Item 18).

Directories Online[edit | edit source]

Ancestry.com ($) has North Dakota directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.

The Family History Library[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of North Dakota including:

Bismarck

1914-1920, 1928-1933 Family History Library microfilm 2309664

1960, 1965, 1975, 1980 etc. Family History Library book 978.477/B1 E4p

To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

NORTH DAKOTA, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
NORTH DAKOTA, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.