North Carolina Directories
|North Carolina Wiki Topics|
|North Carolina Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- Branson's North Carolina business directory : containing facts, figures, names and locations, revised and corrected annually, 1866-1896, ($), index. Also at Branson's Business Directories -- 1867/1868, 1869, 1872, 1890, 1896
- Ancestry.com ($) has North Carolina city directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
- North Carolina Yearbook & Business Directory -1901 1902 1903 1904 1905 1906 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911 1912 1913 1914 1915 1916 1922 1923
- NC City Directories: Digital NC
- Directory of Scots in the Carolinas, 1680 - 1830, Volume 1, ($), index
- North Carolina City Directories
City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations, and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.
City directories have been published for some cities in North Carolina. Many of these are located in local libraries in the state.
Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has directories to some cities such as Charlotte, Greensboro, Raleigh, and Durham. Directories can be found in the Family History Library by using a Place-names Search for:
NORTH CAROLINA - DIRECTORIES
NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY] - DIRECTORIES
NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY], [TOWN]- DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.