Nordborg Parish, Sønderborg, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Sønderborg County
Nordborg


Guide to Nordborg Parish, Sønderborg, Denmark Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

History

The parish was also called Tontoft parish in older times

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Nordborg Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Haderslev Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Nordborg-Oksbøl Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Slesvig
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Sønderborg
Herred (district) Als Nørre
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Skifteret


Place Names

Augustenhof,

Bavnbjerg, Brushøj, Brushøjgaard, Brøndgaard, Bøgebjerg,

Damgaard, Dyvig,

Elhavegaard, Engetgaard,

Farresdam, Folkærgaard,

Gammeldam, Gammelskov, Graugaard, Græsbjerggaard,

Hellesø, Hellesøgaard, Hellesøhave, Hjulkrog, Holm, Holm Mark, Holmskov, Holtgaard, Hopsø, Hopsøhøj,

Juelskrog,

Koldmose, Kolmosgaard, Købingsmark, Købingsmark Strand,

Langbro, Langmosegaard, Lille Skaregaard, Lysmose, Lysemosegaard, Lønsømade,

Mikkelshøj,

Nordborg, Nordborg Flække, Nordborg Fyr, Nordborg Sø, Nørreløkke,

Oldenorhus,

Præstegaarden, Pøl,

Rugløkke,

Sandgrav, Sandvejgaard, Skovgaard, Stegsvig, Stensbjerggaard, Stenbæk, Stenbækgaard, Stoltebøgegaard, Strandsgaard, Søvang,

Tinghøjgaard, Tontoft, Tontoft Nakke, Tranesand, Troldsgaard, Tvegdene,

Ulbjerg,

Vestermølle, Vesterlund, Vildbøgegaard,

Østerlund

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Haderslev County: Halk, Hoptrup, Vilstrup

Odense County: Helnæs

Sønderborg County: Havnbjerg, Oksbøl

Åbenrå County: Løjt, Varnæs

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Sønderborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Sønderborg" and then select your parish.


Societies and Libraries

Lokalhistorisk Forening for Nordborg-området

Løjtertoft 32

6430 Nordborg

Historis Knordborg

References

- Krabsen Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." Krabsen Stednavnebase Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4d ed. Vol. 9, Haderslev, Tønder, Aabenraa, Sønderborg og Færø Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920.

-Worsøe, Hans H. Slægtshistorie i Sønderjylland - en vejledning, 2 ed. Haderslev: J.P. Møller Bogbinderi A/S, 1999.