Nome Census Area, Alaska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Alaska
Nome Census Area

Guide to Nome Census Area, Alaska Genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Nome Census Area, Alaska
Map
Map of Alaska highlighting Nome Census Area
Location in the state of Alaska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alaska
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1980
County Seat No borough seat
Courthouse


Description

The census area was created in 1980 as part of Alaska's Unorganized Borough. It has no borough seat. This census area is located in the western part of the state.[1]

Historical Facts

As of the 2010 census, the population was 9,492. Its largest community by far is the city of Nome.[2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this census area.

Places/Localities

Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas

Populated Areas

  • Nome, Alaska is a city in the Nome Census Area in the Unorganized Borough of the U.S. state of Alaska. The city is located on the southern Seward Peninsula coast on Norton Sound of the Bering Sea. According to the 2010 Census, the city population was 3,598. Nome was incorporated on April 9, 1901, and was once the most populous city in Alaska.
Port Clarence, Alaska, Eskimo group 1894
  • Port Clarence, Alaska is a census-designated place (CDP) in Nome Census Area, Alaska. The population was 24 at the 2010 census. It is located on the spit separating the bay of Port Clarence from the Bering Strait.

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Billion Graves
Billion Graves
Billion Graves Cemeteries
  • Find A Grave
Findagrave
Finagrave Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Court Records

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

RussiaNorthwest Arctic BoroughYukon-Koyukuk Census AreaWade Hampton Census AreaNome Census AreaAK NOME.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military

Newspapers

Other Records

Probate

Repositories

Taxation

Vital Records

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Nome Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nome_Census_Area,_Alaska 18 June 2018.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Nome Census Area, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nome_Census_Area,_Alaska 18 June 2018.