Noble County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Noble County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Noble County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Noble County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Noble County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Noble County Courthouse
100 Courthouse
Caldwell, Ohio 43724
Noble County Website


Noble County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1851 1867 1851 1851 1851 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for either James Noble or Warren P. Noble, both of whom were early settlers in this region. It's county seat is Caldwell and was founded March 11, 1851. It is located in the South-Central area of the state.[3]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]

Villages
Unincorporated communities
Townships

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Guernsey County  • Belmont County  • Monroe County  • Washington County  • Morgan County  • Muskingum County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves
OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 20,751
1870 19,949 −3.9%
1880 21,138 6.0%
1890 20,753 −1.8%
1900 19,466 −6.2%
1910 18,601 −4.4%
1920 17,849 −4.0%
1930 14,961 −16.2%
1940 14,587 −2.5%
1950 11,750 −19.4%
1960 10,982 −6.5%
1970 10,428 −5.0%
1980 11,310 8.5%
1990 11,336 0.2%
2000 14,058 24.0%
2010 14,645 4.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Noble County was initially served by the Ohio District Court from the county's creation in 1851. On 10 Feb 1855, the court was divided into Northern and Southern districts, and Noble became part of the Southern District. On 3 Mar 1911, the court was further divided and Noble was subsequently part of the Southern Eastern District. District and Circuit Courts had the same jurisdictions. See Ohio District Court Jurisdictions for a chart of the Ohio counties and the district courts that served them.

Ohio District and Circuit Court Records from 1803-1961 are held at the National Archives at Chicago.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Noble County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Pickenpaugh, Roger, A History of Noble County, Ohio, 1887-1987, (Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, 1988). FHL book 977.195 H2p
  • History of Noble County, Ohio, (L. H. Watkins, 1887). Google Books

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. =====Finding More Land Records===== Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Muskingum CountyGuernsey CountyBelmont CountyMonroe CountyWashington CountyMorgan CountyOH NOBLE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]
- Civil War service men from Noble County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Noble County.
- 116th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company H
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Noble County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the {{{1}}} County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records. Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Noble County Courthouse
County Courthouse;
Caldwell, OH 43724
Phone: 740.732.4408

Clerk Court has divorce and court records from 1851;
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records;
County Recorder has land records [5]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1840-2001 - Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953. Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Noble County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Noble County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Noble County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/noble/ accessed 2/22/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Noble County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noble_County,_Ohio, accessed 7 January 2019.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Noble County, Ohio. Page 544 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.