Nissedal Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

Norway

Telemark County

Nissedal

Guide to Nissedal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Nissedal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese	add here
Prosti	add here
Len 1599-1660	Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919	1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present	Telemark
Region	add here
Prestegjeld	Nissedal
Kommune	add here
Skifteretten	add here
Tinglag	Nissedal
Fogderi	Øvre Telemarken
Sorenskriveri	Øvre Telemarken vestfjeldske
Skipreide	add here

Church Records

• Nissedal clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Nissedal and Treungen. They were separated from Kviteseid clerical district in 1810. See Kviteseid for earlier records.
  
  

• The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1811-1893.
  
  

• Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records

• 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. Kviteseid clerical district and included Kviteseid parish, Nissedal annex, Treungen annex, Vraadal (Vrådal) annex and Flaabygd (Ytre Flåbygd) annex. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covered Kviteseid clerical district and included Kviteseid parish, Nissedal annex, Treungen annex, Vraadal (Vrådal) annex, and Flaabygd (Ytre Flåbygd) annex. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1782: The 1782 census for Kviteseid clerical district which includes the parishes Treungen, Nissedal, Ytre Flåbygd, Vrådal and Kviteseid is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
  
  

• 1801: The 1801 census for Kviteseid clerical district includes Kviteseid, Brunkeberg, Vrådal, Nissedal, and Treungen parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1865: The 1865 census for Nissedal clerical district which at this time period included Treungen parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
    
    

• 1875: The 1875 census for Nissedal clerical district, which at this time period included Treungen parish, is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  
  • 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1891: The 1891 census for Nissedal clerical district, which at this time period included Treungen parish, is available in a searchable database online at Digitlarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  
  • 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1900: The 1900 census for Nissedal clerical district, which at this time period included Treungen parish, is on microfilm at the Family History Library Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1910: The 1910 census for Nissedal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.

Farm Names

20 Aakre 17 Aarhus 10 Bakka 26 Borstad 16 Brekke 14 Brekkestøl 22 Dale 22 Dalen 22 Dalene 17 Dyraas 20 Evjen 23 Fjalestad nedre 28 Fjone mellem 24 Frosteli 11 Grimstveit nordre 4 Grovum nordre 21 Haatveit 17 Haugene 24 Holskar 13 Ibrekke 15 Kaasen 15 Litveit 12 Lyselien 2 Midbø 12 Moen 17 Mule 19 Nes 1 Nordbø 15 Opdalen 8 Præstegaarden 25 Reine 23 Slaattefiten 18 Syftestad 20 Trontveit 9 Tveit nordre 6 Tveitene nordre 15 Tveitene søndre 7 Vik 3 Voldene 20 Øen 

Nordbø: Dolhus, Rinden, Flom, Sandnes, Funnemark, Evja, Kilen, Øverland, Neirbø, Risland, Nordberg, Fossberg

Midtbø: Søstog

Grovum: Volline, Grovum, Nigard, Uppistog, Åbø, Rønningen (Undeberg), Nykos, Noraberg, Skogen, Sandland, Sandvil, Sandvin, Solvang, Bjørkhaug, Lindane, Kleiva (Åsneskleiv), Kleiva, Rosenlund

Tveitane

Vik: Lindestad (Hegna), Nordteigen (Hegna), Liarheim (Bakkane), Uppsund, Utsund, Sundet, Bukta, Lia, Bakkane, Mosuræ, Nesland, Breidalen, Landvik, Kleiva, Fjonesundet, Hesmyr, Løvås

Prestegarden: Kyrkjeneset, Framnes, Rønningen (Udbøen), Nirisrud, Fredly

Tveit: Nordal, Skeimo, Sanden, Skeimohuset, Strånd, Teigen, Sæflot, Rønningen, Bratterud, Dalane, Bråten, Lauvdal, Hagane

Bakka: Vadder, Braskerud, Ulvsbrekk, Tingsto, Dalane, Tempelen

Grimstveit: Haugen, Uppigard, Nylende, Høgetveit, Moen, Nigard, Flaten, Lyslia, Nordigard, Støylslia, Fitjestøyl, Dampedalen

Ibrekk: Maurbrekk

Tveitane: Søgard, Austigard, Nigard, Uppistog, Kåsa, Litveit, Rafoss, Breiækre, Uvdalen, Tveitane, Uppigard, Lunden, Uppistog, Jorslia, Linækre

Brekke:  Kåsa, Steinsland, Berge, Bergli, Lauvstad

Mule: Store-Mule, Midbø, Døla, Haugane, Øverbø (Tysklemma), Nordbø, Baksås, Bergland, Liland, Århus, Århusodden (Meinstad), Berge (Løyne), Søtveit, Lisle-Mule, Dyrås, Kåsa, Berli, Århus

Syftestad: Syftestad, Holt, Lia, Utbøen, Grova, Lofthus

Nes: Lovikja, Strond, Stavskos (Matufs)

Trontveit: Garden, Åkre, Fjellåker, Øya, Holmane, Flostad, Trontveit, Fjelli, Jore, Gjevland, Evja, Raudnes

Håtveit: Dukane, Dalen, Sandvik, Vik, Neset, Breivik, Bukta, Nygård, Moen, Nordsto

Dale: Bakkane, Åbø, Nordal

Fjalestad: Nigard, Søgard, Neirbø, Kosa, Fitæ, Solli, Øverland, Stor-Uppigard, Lisle-Uppigard, Sesjordet, Frostli, Holskar, Rørtveit, Åheim

Reine: Øygarden

Borstad: Lindefjell, Horgevika, Heggland, Kleivane

Fjone: Nigard, Krokane, Rui, Berge, Rønningen, Hesmyr, Rydland, Krokane (Rønningen), Skettemo, Solvang, Lærarbustad, Kvernhushaugen, Uppigard, Mesel, Nordskog, Kosa, Sundsåsen, Solbu, Nordheim, Skogheim, Nordjordet, Solheim, Lindestad, Lauvland, Lauvstad, Fjellheim, Sundet, Fjonesundet, Nordheim (Vallgardsneset), Søgard, Årtun, Haugen, Gamlehaugen, Søgard, Kosæ, Brekke, Bukta, Modøl

Norddbø:

Probate Records

Øvre Telemark judicial district
*1665-1866 Family History Library

Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark vestfjelske judicial district
*1665-1850 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark deanery
*1753-1817 Family History Library
*1707-1817 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Åsen, Kjell: Nissedal Bygdesoge; Gard og ætt Nissedal sokn. Utgjevar er Nissedal Bygdesogenemd 1976.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.