Newtown Linford, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newton Linford, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newtown Linford, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; For more records see Ratby cum Groby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Groby
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

"

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NEWTOWN-LINFORD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of WestGoscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles (N. W.) from Leicester. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Newtown Linford, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Newtown Linford, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1654-1910
1654-1910
1654-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Newtown Linford Bap 1654 - 1969 Marr 1654 - 2003 (Banns to1994) Bur 1654 - 1929


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-416. Date accessed: 11 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.