Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire|
|Poor Law Union||Droxford|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Meonstoke with Soberton and Hoe; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Newtown (near Meanstoke) was created a chapelry partly within the ancient parishes of Soberton and Hambeldon in the county of Hampshire, created in 1850. It stood partly within the ancient parishes of Soberton and Hambledon. Soberton was later annexed to the ancient parish of Meonstoke (all three ancient parishes of which, also see).
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Newtown (near Meanstoke), Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|NEWTOWN Chapelry (1850) Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Newtown was a chapelry laying partly within the ancient and civil parish boundaries of both Soberton and Hambledon ancient parishes. Soberton Parish later was annexed to Meonstoke Parish (by at least 1847 and which also see).
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
Newtown (near Meanstoke) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Hampshire, created in 1851 from Soberton chapelry in Meonstoke Ancient Parish.