To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Newton in Mottram, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Newton in Mottram, Cheshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newton in Mottram, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton in Mottram, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NEWTON, is a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in the district of Ashton-under-Lyne, and county of Chester. The village stands near the Peak-Forest canal, and the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 1¼ mile S of the river Tame at the boundary with Lancashire, and 2½ miles S S E of Ashton-under-Lyne. The township contains also the villages of Newton-Green and Floweryfield; is sometimes called Newton-Moor; and is in the parish of Mottram-in-Langdendale. There are chapels for Wesleyans, New Connexion Methodists, andRoman Catholics, and a part of the chapelry of Godley.[1]

Newton in Mottram St Mary was a chapelry of Mottram in Longendale Ancient Parish until it was created as a parish in 1840. It included Floweryfield within the parish. It is one of the 35 townships of Prestbury in the pre-Norman period.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Newton-in-Mottram parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Newton-in-Mottram Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1626-1910
1859-1910
1839-1910
FMP Diocese BTs 1626-1910
1859-1910
1839-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Mottram St. Andrew, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1895.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  •  Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  • Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Macclesfield

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Newton (near Hyde) in GENUKI

Newton in Mottram in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk