Newton Harcourt, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Newton Harcourt, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Newton Harcourt, Leicestershire|
St Luke Newton Harcourt, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Billesdon|
|Parish registers: 1588; For more records see Wistow|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1677|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
NEWTON-HARCOURT, a chapelry, in the parish of Wistow, union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree,S. division of the county of Leicester, 6¾ miles (S. E.by S.) from Leicester.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Newton Harcourt like this:
NEWTON-HARCOURT, a village and a township-chapelry in Wistow parish, Leicestershire. The village stands on the Union canal, near the river Soar, and near the Leicester and Hitchin railway, 1 mile W N W of Glen r. station, and 6½ S E by S of Leicester.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Newton Harcourt, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Newton Harcourt, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Refer to Wistow, Leicestershire registers
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.