Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Newton County
 

Guide to Newton County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jasper
Organized: December 14, 1842
Parent County(s): Carroll[1]
Neighboring Counties
Boone  • Carroll  • Johnson  • Madison  • Pope  • Searcy
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasNewtonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-newton.png
Adoption
American Civil War fought near Villines Mill (Boxley Mill), Newton CO., Arkansas

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Newton County Courthouse
Court Street
Jasper, AR 72641-0435
Phone: 870.446.5125
Newton County Website

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1866, probate and court records from 1880.[2]

Newton County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1866 1914* 1880 1866 1880
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1866 All records destroyed by fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1842--Newton County was created 14 December 1842 from Carroll County.
  • County seat: Jasper[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Newton County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Newton County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1818-1828 - The land was part of a reservation granted to the Western Cherokee.
  • 1833 - This area was now part of Carroll County and white settoers had begun to move in.
  • 1842 December 14 - Newton County was established.
  • 1800s (late) - The terrain made the area unattractive to land speculators, which was encouraging to people who could not afford land in other parts of the state.
  • 1861 - The isolation of Newton County resulted in an increase in population at the start of the Civil War.
  • 1865 - After the war, families returned to their previous way of life.
  • 1900s (early) - The 1900s brought increased population as outsiders moved to the county. Land speculators bought property. The county reached its largest population of 12,538 in 1900.
  • 1970-2010 - The county population reached its low point of 5,844 in 1970 and now stands at 8330 in 2010.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Newton County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Newton CountyMarion CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountySearcy CountyBaxter CountyVan Buren CountyMadison CountyPope CountyConway CountyJohnson CountyLogan CountyFaulkner CountyFranklin CountyARNewton.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Newton County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)[6]
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[7] Companies A, C, and I

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Newton County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. C. J. Miller, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=364&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Newton County.”
  6. Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL Collection
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.